Skip to Main Content

Using Library Resources & Services

Library Services for All Patrons

James C. Kirkpatrick Library offers a number of services to all patrons.

  • Computer and Internet access
  • Research assistance
  • Use of library materials within the library
  • On-campus access to subscription databases and library catalog (Public patrons need to be in the library building to access any databases licensed by JCKL.)

UCM Students

Student Category Available Library Services
Undergraduate Students, Graduate Students & Dual Credit Students

  • Book check out: 4 weeks

  • Laptop check out: 

    • Chromebooks: 1 semester

    • Dell Laptops (CS, CIS, and Math majors only): 14 days 

    • Dell Laptops for any major: 14 days

  • DVD/Blu-ray drive check out: 7 days

  • Library computers and specialty software

  • Access to databases on and off campus

  • Access to interlibrary loan services

  • Library study rooms

  • Locker rentals
Students not currently enrolled, but needing access to complete coursework

Off campus access to library databases requires a UCM network login, which requires enrollment in GRAD 5001 (a zero-credit, no-fee course). 

For further information, contact Graduate Studies.

UCM Faculty & Staff (includes Adjunct status)

Available Library Services

  • Book check out: 6 months

  • DVD/Blu-ray drive check out: 7 days

  • Access to databases on and off campus

  • Access to interlibrary loan services

  • Locker rentals

  • Adjunct faculty notice: Accessing library databases off-campus requires a UCM network login. See your Dean or School Chair to arrange network login which typically expires one year from appointment.

Public Patrons

Requirements to apply are:

  1. Be at least 16 years old

  2. Present a valid photo ID.

  3. Complete a patron form.

Available Library Services

Renewals:  Eligible materials may be renewed through “My Library Account” or by telephone (660-543-4154)

Check out privileges for public patrons DO NOT include:

  • placing holds or recalling materials
  • checking out DVD/Blu-ray drives, laptops, course reserves, reference items, maps, or microform

Please note: Fees and bills may be levied to public patrons. Charges will be sent to Student Financial Services for collection.  The “Library Theft Law” (Mo. Rev. Stat. Sect. 570.210) may be applied.

Alumni

Alumni (graduates of the University of Central Missouri) may apply for check out privileges at the James C. Kirkpatrick Library at no charge.

Alumni need to provide the following information to acquire library privileges:

  1. Present a valid photo ID such as a Driver’s License or military ID.
Available Library Services

Renewals:  Eligible materials may be renewed through “My Library Account” or by telephone (660-543-4154).

Check out privileges for alumni DO NOT include:

  • placing holds or recalling materials
  • checking out DVD/Blu-ray drives, laptops, materials on course reserves, reference items, maps, or microform

Please note: Fees and bills may be levied to alumni. Charges will be sent to Student Financial Services for collection.  The “Library Theft Law” (Mo. Rev. Stat. Sect. 570.210) may be applied.

Emeriti

Emeriti faculty and staff may apply for check out privileges at the James C. Kirkpatrick Library at no charge.

Emeriti need to provide the following information to acquire a library account:

  1. Present a valid photo ID such as a Driver’s License or military ID.
Library Services for Emeriti

  • Book check out: 4 weeks

  • DVD check out

  • Access to library databases on and off campus

  • Access to interlibrary loan services. Please note: Emeriti faculty or staff must be registered as emeriti to access JCKL ILL or any library online resources. Please talk to your program's department/school chair or last previous supervisor for guidance on emeriti registration.

Renewals:  Eligible materials may be renewed through “My Library Account” or by telephone (660-543-4154).

Check out privileges for emeriti DO NOT include:

  • placing holds or recalling materials
  • checking out DVD/Blu-ray drives, laptops, materials on course reserves, reference items, maps, or microform

Please note: Fees and bills may be levied to emeriti. Charges will be sent to Student Financial Services for collection.  The “Library Theft Law” (Mo. Rev. Stat. Sect. 570.210) may be applied.   

Approved by Library Services Council, July 15, 2022

Updated, December 12, 2024