Skip to main content

Main Navigation Menu

JCKL Policies and Procedures

Client Services Policies

Studyroom Policy

Study Room Policies

By booking a study room, you agree to the following:

  • When not reserved, study rooms are available on a first come, first serve basis.
  • Study room users without reservations must leave immediately when requested by an individual or group with proof of a valid reservation.
  • Vacate the room promptly when your reservation period ends so that the next individual or group can have their full time.
  • Do not start a timed test or other activity that will extend beyond your reserved time. If there is another reservation, you will be asked to leave.
  • Rooms are meant to be shared by as many students as possible. Back-to-back and/or multiple reservations by a group beyond the daily two hour limit are not allowed even if different people in the group are reserving the room. Such reservations may be canceled by library staff.
  • The library reserves the right to remove unattended belongings if the reservation period is expired and the room is reserved by another patron. Belongings may be claimed at the circulation desk.
  • The library assumes no responsibility for unattended personal belongings.
  • Study rooms are not intended to provide privacy. Library staff may enter the rooms as needed for security, maintenance, or other issues.
  • Children and service animals may not be left alone in study rooms at any time.
  • Respect the equipment and furnishings. You will be held responsible for any damage to the equipment, furniture, or the room itself during your reservation.
  • Please clean up the room before you leave so that it is ready for the next user. This includes erasing the white board.
  • Respect others studying nearby and keep the noise down. The study rooms are not sound-proof.
  • If you lock yourself out of the room, go to the Library Services Desk on the first floor for assistance.
  • If you are unable to resolve a dispute over the use of a room, please seek staff assistance at the nearest service desk.

Failure to follow these policies may result in a temporary or permanent suspension of access to the study rooms. Your cooperation and courtesy are appreciated.

Paying Fees and Fines

All library charges (fines, replacement fees, etc.) are sent to Student Financial Services.  You may pay fines at Student Financial Services or through your MyCentral account.

Approved by Library Services Council, August 4, 2016

Laptop Late Fees & Fines

  • A late fee of $2 per hour wil be charged if you do not return the laptop, with peripherals and accessories, on time.
  • Replacement costs of lost or damaged laptop accessories are available at the Replace Cost Charges page.
  • The billing charge for an unreturned laptop is up to $2,000 depending upon the laptop model.
  • Lost or damaged peripheral devices will be charged at the following rates:
    • Mouse: $25
    • Power cord: $60
    • Ethernet cable: $10
    • Phone cable: $5

 

Approved by LSC, Aug. 4, 2016

Lost Library Items

  • Immediately report any material that is lost to the Library Services Desk: 660-543-4283
  • A fee of $75.00 will be applied for each item reported lost
  • For each lost item returned in good condition, the lost fee will be waived, however overdue fees will apply.
  • JCKL will not accept replacement copies of library materials in lieu of lost/damaged item fees.

Approved by Library Services Council, January 7, 2017, updated September 22, 2017

Laptop Technology Notice

  • The Library limits technical support to ensuring the prepared system on the laptop is operational.
  • Students take full responsibility for the compatibility of any software they may load on a Library laptop.
  • Files saved or software downloaded to a laptop are deleted upon return.

 

Approved by LSC, Aug. 4, 2016

Library Fees/Fines Appeal Process

When a library patron believes that a library fine and/or fee regarding the use of library materials is incorrect, s/he may initiate an appeal.

The library patron must fill out and submit the Library Patron Fines & Fees Appeal Form.  When appropriate, copies of fine/fee payment  or other appropriate documents must be included in the form to support an appeal.

The appeal will be reviewed by the Library Fines & Fees Appeals Committee.  The Board will review the appeal and make a determination within 15 working days of the appeal submission.  The Library Dean's Office will contact the patron by email (using the email address submitted on the Library Patron Fines & Fees Appeal Form) and by regular mail regarding the decision.  The Board reserves the right to request more information and may contact the patron as needed.  The burden of proof in the appeal process lies solely with the individual raising the appeal.

Approved by LSC on Aug. 4, 2016

Interlibrary Loan Policy

Interlibrary Loan (ILL), a division of JCKL Client Services, provides materials for patrons which are not available in UCM’s collection. This is accomplished through the borrowing and lending of items in cooperation with other libraries.

I.    Borrowing

  • Any student, faculty, staff, alumni, emeritus, or current public patron may use Interlibrary Loan service.
  • The Interlibrary Loan service does not borrow materials already owned by JCKL, unless the item is missing from the collection.
  • JCKL will make the best effort to obtain materials you request, but cannot guarantee that the request will be filled.
  • The loan period is determined by the lending library but usually ranges from one to four weeks. Renewal requests are accepted per the lending library's policy.
  • Patrons must abide by any use restrictions imposed by the lending library.  Any restrictions will be clearly relayed to JCKL patrons.
  • The JCKL currently covers ILL charges for UCM students, faculty and staff. Public patrons are charged the amount the lending library specifies.
  • Interlibrary Loan adheres to copyright law.

II.   Lending

  • All circulating materials within the collection are available for lending.  Specific items not available for lending include: software, bound periodicals, items on course reserves and special collections material.
  • All materials sent out on Interlibrary Loan will be for a period of four weeks. Books may be renewed one time, unless a hold has been placed on the book by a UCM patron.  DVDs may not be renewed.  Any materials that UCM has loaned to another library are subject to recall at any time.
  • There are no charges for the lending of materials. If a book is not returned by the borrowing library, a replacement cost of $120.00 ($100 for the book, $20 processing fee) will be charged.
  • Charges for articles are:
    •  Reciprocal library partners:  Free
    •  Non-reciprocal library partners: $5.00 for first 10 pages, then 10 cents per page  

Requests are accepted through OCLC or email.

LSC approved Oct. 3, 2016

Course Reserves Policy

JCKL offers a Course Reserves service whereby student course content is made available by instructional faculty through JCKL without requiring students to purchase course content. A single copy of the course content, usually an electronic copy of an article, part of a book, etc. from the JCKL collections may be placed on Reserve for a particular course.

Eligible Materials to be Placed on Course Reserves

In adherence with the Copyright Laws as outlined in Title 17 of the United States Code and the UCM Copyright & Fair Use Policy the following materials in brief are eligible to be placed on Course Reserves.

  • Required reading for courses being taught in the current semester.
  • Materials not available in quantity.
  • Electronic copies of articles or chapters of books, or photocopies of content owned by JCKL.
  • CDs, DVDs, and other media supported by UCM.

Materials that Generally Cannot be Placed on Course Reserves

  • Periodicals
  • Non-circulating books
  • Reference Materials (including textbooks)
  • Workbooks.

Course Reserves Options

JCKL offers course reserves in electronic or physical format. Electronic format, when available, is strongly encouraged as it enables simultaneous multi-user access to the information.

Electronic Reserves

All requests for articles or chapters of books will be processed in electronic format if held as part of JCKL collections. If the material is not available in electronic format then a physical copy of the material will be placed in Course Reserve as outlined below.

Note: Articles available through JCKL Electronic Resources or E-Books of JCKL are not eligible to be placed on electronic reserves. Please consult with your library liaison for information on accessing these materials through the JCKL website.

E-Course Reserves Options

Electronic course reserves (E-Course Reserves) are accessible to students enrolled in a relevant course through the course’s Blackboard site. Course Reserves staff will provide to faculty the files or links for faculty to upload into Blackboard.

Physical Reserve Options

Placing physical format(s) of items on Course Reserves is available only when an entire text, video, etc. is needed for a course and there is no electronic equivalent.

Physical course reserves are linked to the Course Reserves module of the library catalog. Physical course reserves items are located on the course reserves open shelves located by the Library Services Desk on the first floor of JCKL. Students may check-out course reserves using their UCM ID. Instructors determine the length of time a physical item may check out: 2 hours, 1 day, 3 days or 7 days.

 

Course Reserves Timeframe and Item Removal

Course reserves items are offered for the current semester (Fall, Spring, or Summer) and will be automatically removed at the end of the semester. If an instructor wishes to renew the course reserves item(s) from one semester to the next, please re-submit the request(s) using the Course Reserves form.

Deadlines for Submitting Course Reserves

Course Reserves requests must be submitted 3 working days priorto when the items are needed for a course. This requirement ensures library employees are able to properly prepare items for student access. Any issues or problems with the Course Reserve request will be communicated to the faculty member requesting the reserves. Course Reserves staff will work with instructors to resolve issues whenever possible.

Submitting a Course Reserves request

Use the Course Reserves form to submit requests. Any questions on course reserves can be emailed to reserves-jckl@ucmo.edu or call 660-543-4194.

Faculty Personal Copies for Course Reserves

The library will endeavor to use library-owned or licensed materials for Course Reserves when possible. JCKL will only accept a faculty member’s personal copy of an item placed on Course Reserves when:

  • Acquiring a library purchased copy is not possible (item is out of print or no modern format is available), or
  • A library-owned copy cannot be made available by the time needed, or
  • The item requested to be placed on Course Reserves is an item that is not generally placed on Course Reserves as outlined above.

In most situations upon placement of a faculty personal copy on Course Reserves, the library will either purchase a copy of a title needed for a course or point to electronically available resources if already available. Once a library-owned or licensed item is available on Course Reserves, the personal copy will be returned to the lending instructional faculty. Your Department Liaison Librarian will assist with acquiring course reserves materials if the library does not already own or have access to the needed information. If personal copies of a physical item from an instructor are placed on Course Reserves, JCKL does not assume responsibility for any damage or loss.

Multiple Copies Policy

JCKL strongly discourages providing multiple copies of a physical item for Course Reserves.  Accommodations may be made if the title is out of print and may be reevaluated on a case by case basis should the situation arise in the future.

Course Reserves Usage Statistics

At the end of the semester, JCKL will share usage information when available to the instructor.  This information will help with determining optimal ways to make information available to students for their coursework.

Approved by LSC 8/2/17

Delivery Services Policy

JCKL delivers and picks up library materials for current faculty, staff, and teaching graduate assistants to support instruction and research needs.  The service is available at UCM Warrensburg and UCM Lee's Summit campus locations.

To make delivery/pick-up requests, take the following steps:

  • Fill out the Delivery Services Form.  Requests for UCM Warrensburg must be made 24 hours in advance.  Requests going to UCM Lee's Summit require 48 hours notice during the work week in order to send material by UCM courier.

  • If the need is under the 24 hour requirement, faculty, staff and teaching graduate assistants are welcome to come to the library for help with accessing teaching material.

    • Phone: 660-543-4151
    • Library Services Desk

Requests made by phone or in person must provide the following information:

  • Patron name and ID number
  • Department and phone number
  • Delivery/pick-up point
  • Delivery/pick-up date
  • Title and Call Number

 

JCKL staff will deliver and pickup materials at designated locations on the Warrensburg campus.  PLEASE NOTE: The library does not make automatic rounds throughout campus.  Delivery Services requests must include dates and locations for drop-off and pick-up.

Patron Behavior Guidelines

Patron Behavior Guideline

The James C. Kirkpatrick Library complies with all UCM policies and regulations, including those that govern tobacco and alcohol use.  In addition to university policies, the following expectations concerning library use and conduct apply: 

 

Children in the Library

The safety of children in the library is of primary concern.  The library cannot assume responsibility for the safety of unattended children. All activities of children under the age of 14 must be supervised by an accompanying, responsible adult.

Food and drink

Food and drink are allowed anywhere within the building. Drinks should be in closed containers.  Litter should be disposed of in trash containers, and spills should be reported to the 1st floor service desk.  

Noise level and cell phone use

  • The 3rd floor is the library’s designated Quiet Floor. Normal conversational noise is expected on the 1st and 2nd floors. 
  • Courteous cell phone use is required. Please show consideration of other library patrons by conducting conversation in a quiet voice and refraining from inappropriate language or personal information. Set cell phones to vibrate or to a soft volume ring when in the library.

Use of Electrical Outlets

  • Electrical cords and power strips attached to laptop computers, tablets, etc. may not be draped across aisles or arranged in any fashion that constitutes a hazard.  
  • Library patrons may not unplug library equipment such as copiers, workstations, or other peripherals in order to access an outlet for personal use.
     

Disruptive Behavior

Disruptive behavior will not be tolerated.  Disruptive behavior includes any activity that interferes with the rights of other patrons to use the library; disrupts the normal functioning of the library; could result in physical, emotional, or mental injury to oneself or others; or could result in damage to library facilities, equipment, or materials.

Disruptive behavior includes, but is not limited to, any of the following in the library:

  • arguing, fighting, or any activity that creates excessive noise or commotion detrimental to the work of library users;
  • abusing, threatening, or intimidating library users or staff through language or action;
  • engaging in sexual harassment or overt sexual behavior;
  • bringing weapons (real or simulated) into the library;
  • displaying overt signs of substance abuse, including drunkenness;
  • using audio devices or other electronic devices that create excessive noise or in any other way disrupt the work of library users;
  • using bicycles, skateboards, in-line skates, etc.  in the building;
  • refusing to leave the building at closing time, or as directed by library personnel.

Disciplinary Guidelines

Any library user may be asked to provide photo identification.

Library personnel reserve the right to ask any patron to leave the building if disruptive or unacceptable behavior occurs. 

A library staff member who observes disruptive behavior will notify the individual or individuals who are in violation of the standards of conduct.  In some cases, a verbal warning will suffice.   Incidents of disruptive behavior will be recorded and reported to the Office of the Dean of Library Services.  Library personnel may also contact Public Safety.  Additional disciplinary action by the university may ensue. 

 

10-2-2014

Approved 10-6-2014
 

Collection Policies

Collection Development Policy