Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Peer-Review and Primary Research in the Sciences

Finding Peer-Reviewed Journal Articles

Finding Peer Reviewed Journals

  • Use a discipline-specific database (Education Full Text, Applied Science and Technology, APA PsycInfo, etc.). While this strategy will help you find peer-reviewed journal articles, you should be aware that not all citations in such indexes are from peer-reviewed journals. 
  • Use special features of online databases. Many allow you to limit your search results to peer-reviewed journals.
  • Check the Serials Directory, available from the Databases A-Z List, to see if it characterizes the journal in question as “peer-reviewed.”
  • Check the “Instructions to Authors” section in the journal, where the editor explains the process used to decide whether an article is appropriate for a particular journal.
  • If you are in doubt, consult with a librarian or your professor.

Follow some examples below on how to find peer-reviewed journal articles in PRIMO, Databases and Google Scholar.

Finding Peer-Reviewed Literature in PRIMO

PRIMO Search on the library homepage:

Enter a search on your research topic in the search anything box.

undefined

After you have searched and gotten results use the filters on the left-hand side to limit your search to peer-reviewed journals.

 

Finding Peer-Reviewed Literature in Databases

From the library homepage select Browse Databases. Choose a subject specific or a multidisciplinary database that relates to your research topic. If you are accessing the database remotely you will be prompted to login with your 700 # and password. 

The example below is for ProQuest databases, in this examples it is ProQuest Central:

Databases will often have an option to limit your results to peer-reviewed articles before you do your search. 

Once you complete a search and go to the results page, you can filter to peer-reviewed material by selecting the "Scholarly Journals" box on the left-hand side.