Education Liaison Librarian
Databases
Find all of the library's databases here. Note that you may limit your search to a broad subject area, such as Education or Psychology.
The databases listed below are particularly helpful for education research. If you're not sure where to start, you might want to try either Education Research Complete or ERIC. Both are excellent starting points for most education topics.
- Dissertations & Theses @ University of Central Missouri This link opens in a new window A ProQuest index of dissertations and theses from UCM students. Additional UCM theses and dissertations can be found by searching their titles and authors on the JCKL homepage.
- Education Journals This link opens in a new window Includes full-text journals and dissertations, supporting research on the theory and practice of education. Education Database covers literature on primary through Secondary Education (BSE), higher education, special education, home schooling, adult education, and hundreds of related topics.
- Education Research Complete (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window Covering the areas of curriculum instruction, administration, policy, funding and related social issues, Education Research Complete is a database for education students, professionals and policymakers. Topics include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
- ERIC This link opens in a new window Also known as Education Resource Information Center, this database provides access to literature in the field of education, with many links to the full-text documents.
- APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window The APA PsycInfo from the American Psychological Association (APA), includes abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Provides citations and abstracts to journal articles in the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, social work, education, business, pharmacology, physiology, law, linguistics. Includes international material selected from periodicals in dozens of languages. Coverage from 1800 to present.
Reference and Streaming Video Databases
- Counseling and Therapy in Video This link opens in a new windowCounseling and Therapy in Video Library provides information on working with clients and the challenges associated with putting theoretical concepts into practice. This series contains footage from actual therapy sessions, training videos, and reenactments conducted by renowned counseling professionals. The collection provides a thorough grounding in multiple therapeutic methods and diagnoses and training skills while working with specific populations such as veterans and teens.
- Education in Video (United States) This link opens in a new windowAn online video series designed specifically for the development and training of teachers. It helps students apply the abstract theory in their textbook to the knowledge in the classroom with demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary-source footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms.