Guides: Systematic Reviews: Step 2: Selecting Databases

Selecting Databases

Talk to a librarian about selecting databases for a systematic review. The database selection will depend on the research question and the discipline in which relevant research may be conducted. Below are some examples of scholarly databases in a number of research areas. Check James C. Kirkpatrick Library's database page for a list of available sources across all disciplines.

APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
The APA PsycInfo from the American Psychological Association (APA) includes a collection of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, social work, education, business, pharmacology, physiology, law, linguistics.
MEDLINE (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE includes citations and abstracts for biomedical and health journals used by health care professionals, nurses, clinicians and researchers.
MEDLINE (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE includes citations and abstracts for biomedical and health journals used by health care professionals, nurses, clinicians and researchers.
Psychology Database This link opens in a new window
The Psychology Database includes full-text articles from top psychology publications, as well as diverse content such as dissertations and training videos. In addition to clinical and social psychology, it also provides coverage of related disciplines including genetics, psychology of business and economics, communication, criminology, addiction, neurology, and social welfare.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database and a leading resource for scholarly research. Includes full-text access to peer-reviewed journals in key areas of academic study, as well as indexing and abstracts for magazines, monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.