JCKL Library Blog

Music Index

Music Index offers access to over 1850 periodicals in music. Despite its name, it provides access to some full-text content and even streaming media. This extensive coverage ensures that users have a broad range of sources to explore, from scholarly journals to other publications on music. This resource serves as a valuable alternative to the numerous results you may encounter in a discovery tool like Google Scholar. It narrows down your search to several hundred publications specifically focused on music. The user-friendly interface resembles other Ebsco databases you've used. The autocomplete function provides helpful suggestions for refining your search and you can limit results to full-text articles and peer-reviewed content.

Music Index is regularly updated so you get current information. Entries are reviewed so the information for your citations is accurate. An intuitive search interface empowers users to locate lesser-known artists, explore underground genres, latest releases, explore a specific genre, or trace the discography of your favorite artist. It accesses more than just a collection of facts and figures. It's a gateway to explore, discover, and deepen your understanding of the diverse world of music. If you are doing research for an assignment or just want reliable information about an artist you like, this database caters to your musical curiosity, offering a dynamic and enriching experience

Click here to access Music Index or go to the A-Z database list and search for "Music Index." For assistance with using Music Index, contact Rob Hallis at hallis@ucmo.edu