JCKL Library Blog

SciFinder

SciFinder-n by Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) contains the most comprehensive platform for chemical information. The classic SciFinder interface has been retired and replaced with SciFinder-n.  SciFinderCAS indexes literature and patents in chemistry, engineering materials science, agriculture, biomedicine, and more. SciFinder is searchable by chemical name, chemical structure, CAS Registry Number, chemical reaction, molecular formula, research topic, author name, and specific reference (patent or abstract number). 

SciFinder-n contains a wide variety of content, from journal articles to information on chemical structures, properties, and reactions. The content is retrieved from various sources, including:

• Chemical Substances, from Chemical Abstract Services, CAS REGISTRY
• References, CAplus(1907-) and MEDLINE (1950-)
• Reactions, CASREACT
• Chemical Suppliers, CHEMCATS
• Biosequences
• Retrosynthesis
• Chemical industry notes CIN
• Markush structures (chemical symbols to indicate a chemical class, may include hypothetical compounds) MARPAT
• Chemistry abstracts 1830-1969 from Chemisches Zentralblatt, ChemZent.

SciFinder-n provides three separate searches: references, substances, and reactions.

Additionally, you can use the “draw” feature to draw and search for substances.

To use this database, you must register for a personal account with your ucmo.edu email address. For assistance with using SciFinder-n, contact Sanja Gidakovic at gidakovic@ucmo.edu