Guides: Anthropology: Getting Started

Find Articles On Anthropology

eHRAF Collection of Archaeology This link opens in a new window
eHRAF Archaeology focuses on in-depth descriptive documents of archaeological traditions from around the world. The database currently covers over 100 traditions. The database can be searched or browsed by tradition, subject, or documents.
eHRAF Collection of World Cultures This link opens in a new window
eHRAF World Cultures contains ethnographic collections covering all aspects of over 300 cultural and social life. eHRAF is unique in having subject indexing at the paragraph level. This allows detailed and precise searching for concepts not easily found with keywords.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A collection of journals, e-books, and primary sources, covering content in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences. New content for journals will not appear for 1-5 years after the publishing date.
Religion This link opens in a new window
This resource reflects a wide spectrum of religious belief systems and supports the global study of religion. It accesses over 300 academic journals and other resources supporting diverse religious and spiritual studies ranging formal theological studies of major religions to the most recent trends and scholarly thought.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Social Explorer provides easy access to demographic information about the United States. Thousands of interactive data maps going back to 1790 can be used to analyze and visualize the characteristics of almost any location. Whether you are interested in markets, voting, poverty, aging populations, ethnicity and race, spending patterns, health indicators, crime, environment or education, the easy to use tools will facilitate your analyses, viewing of trends, and comparisons over time.
AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
AnthroSource offers full-text anthropological resources from the breadth and depth of the discipline. AnthroSource is a digital searchable database containing the past, present and future AAA publications. This database provides more than 250,000 articles from AAA journals, newsletters, bulletins and monographs in a single place, and offers 24/7 access to scientific research information across the field of anthropology.
CultureGrams Online This link opens in a new window
CultureGrams is a leading reference for concise and reliable cultural information on over 160 countries of the world providing country reports that go beyond mere facts and figures to deliver perspective on daily life and culture, including the background, customs, and lifestyles of the world's people..
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database and a leading resource for scholarly research. Includes full-text access to peer-reviewed journals in key areas of academic study, as well as indexing and abstracts for magazines, monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.