Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. This authoritative database provides indexing of more than 2,300 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
America: History and Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. This database includes indexing for almost 1,700 journals from as far back as 1910.
Provides electronic access to back runs of scholarly journals, literary journals, academic monographs, research reports, and primary sources. Due to agreements with the publishers, JSTOR does not include current issues of journals; the most recently published issue of any current journal will not appear in JSTOR until 1-5 years after the publishing date.
Latin American Studies is an entirely new and unique type of reference tool that has been specially created to meet a great need among today’s students, scholars, and researchers. It offers more than other bibliography initiatives on- and offline by providing expert commentary to help users find, negotiate, and assess the large amount of information readily available to them. It facilitates research in a way that other guides cannot by providing direct links to online library catalogs and other online resources.
The period of the Renaissance and Reformation, which spans roughly from the 14th through 17th centuries, is rich in history and culture. The field of Renaissance and Reformation studies, which has a critical importance for the understanding of Western culture, can best be approached through a combination of several disciplines including history, the arts, and literature. As such, it is constantly responding to the emergence of new interpretations and ideas for scholars to consider. Oxford Bibliographies Renaissance and Reformation is designed to provide authoritative guidance.
Dating from the early 1700s into the 2000s, Newspapers.com World Collection contains full runs and portions of runs of well-known, regional and state titles to small local newspapers in the United States including Missouri, Kansas, Arkansas, Iowa, and Illinois, England from 1648, and Canada.
Historical Newspapers provides full text scans of American newspapers from the 19th and 20th century. The collection includes The New York Times (1851-2018), The Wall Street Journal (1889-2010), The Washington Post (1877-2005), The Los Angeles Times (1881-2013), and The St. Louis Post Dispatch (1874-2003). Black Newspapers is the definitive newspaper digital archive offering full-text and full-image articles for significant newspapers dating back to the 18th Century. The full text of the articles can be searched by keyword, and options to search documents types such as ads or marriage announcements are available.
The Times Digital Archive is an online, full-text facsimile of more than 200 years of The Times (London), one of the most highly regarded resources for eighteenth-, nineteenth-, and twentieth-century news coverage, with every page of every issue from 1785 through 2014. This historical newspaper archive allows researchers an unparalleled opportunity to search and view the best-known and most cited newspaper in the world online in its original published context.
The American Civil War: Letters and Diaries contains over 100,000 pages of letters, diaries, and memoirs from 2000 different authors. The material can be searched or browsed using dates, names of battles, locations, persons, and types of sources.
The Oxford African American Studies Center provides students, scholars and librarians with more than 20,000 articles by top scholars in the field. Over 2,500 images, more than 700 primary sources with specially written commentaries, and nearly 200 maps have been collected to enhance this reference content
Loosely organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, the site seeks to advance scholarly debates and understanding of U.S. history while making the insights of women’s history accessible to teachers and students at universities, colleges, and high schools. It features teaching-centered document projects, as well as extensive collections of primary sources. We are also an online journal and publish new issues twice a year (fall and spring), featuring new document projects and book reviews, as well as a host of other material, including essays, roundtables, and other special features.
A premier online database containing more than 150,000 titles of legal history and government documents, including over 2,400 law-related periodicals in a fully searchable, image-based format. Contents include the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, the National Survey of State Laws, and extensive materials dedicated to treaties, constitutions, and case law. Subjects include political science, history, criminal justice, religious studies, international relations, women's studies, business and economics.
Social Explorer provides easy access to demographic information about the United States. Thousands of interactive data maps going back to 1790 can be used to analyze and visualize the characteristics of almost any location. Whether you are interested in markets, voting, poverty, aging populations, ethnicity and race, spending patterns, health indicators, crime, environment or education, the easy to use tools will facilitate your analyses, viewing of trends, and comparisons over time.