Skip to main content

Getting Started with the Library

In this guide

Research Support

Research Help

JCKL offers assistance with your research needs.  Library employees are available at the Library Services Desk to assist you as you begin your research project. Library employees can also refer you to the appropriate librarian subject specialist who can assist with more extensive research needs.

We can help by showing you the best resources to use for your research topic.  We also help with placing requests through interlibrary loan for items you need that are outside of JCKL collections.

Assistance is provided face-to-face at the desk, by appointment, through chat, or by text.  The Research Help number is (660) 543-4154.

Searching Library Collections

Browse Library Databases

A-Z Database List
Full list of Databases to which the library subscribes, including trial access.

Checking Out Library Materials

Checking Out Materials  - All patrons must present their current UCM ID card or official photo identification, i.e., driver's license, military ID, passport, etc. to check out materials from the James C. Kirkpatrick Library.

Renewals - Most library materials check outs can be renewed unless a Hold/Recall has been placed on the material.  However, Course Reserves material and laptops cannot be renewed.  Renewals may be done through:

Special Collections materials - Special Collections items may only be accessed by appointment, Monday - Friday from 8 am through 5 pm.  To make an appointment, use the Special Collections Contact Form.  More information is available on the UCM Special Collections Guide.