Guides: ASCD Journals: Getting Started

ASCD (Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development)

ASCD was founded in 1943 with the launch of the journal Educational Leadership.

According to the ASCD website, "ASCD is dedicated to excellence in learning, teaching, and leading so that every child is healthy, safe, engaged, supported, and challenged. Comprising 115,000 members—superintendents, principals, teachers, and advocates from more than 128 countries. The ASCD community also includes 51 affiliate organizations."

ASCD Home Page

ASCD Journals

Educational Leadership
This is the official journal of ASCD. It is published monthly, September through May. UCM provides access from 10/01/1943 to the present.
International Journal of Education Policy and Leadership
This journal continues the Journal of Curriculum and Supervision. UCM provides access to issues from 01/01/2009 to the present.
Journal of Curriculum and Supervision
Published from 1985 - 2005 by ASCD. UCM provides access from 01/09/1985 - 06/30/2005.

ASCD Publications

ASCD Express
A free electronic newsletter published by ASCD. The newsletter began in 2005 and is published twice a month. You may subscribe and receive directly or you may review the issues on the ASCD site.
ASCD SmartBrief
A free electronic newsletter published by ASCD. It is published daily and provides, "a daily snapshot of the education community with news from Education Week, The Washington Post, and other leading sources" (ASCD website). This newsletter is not archived -- you must subscribe to receive this information.

Additional current and discontinued ASCD publications are only available to members on the ASCD website:

Classroom Leadership - Published from 1997 - 2005.
Curriculum Handbook - Last published in 2005.
Curriculum Technology Quarterly - Published from 1992 - 2005.
Curriculum Update - Published from 1982 - 2005.
Policy Priorities (formerly InfoBrief) - This newsletter is published quarterly. It provides background and context on current education issues. Members have online access.
Research Brief - Published from 2003 to 2007.

Finding Articles from ASCD Publications

Education Research Complete (Ebsco)
Covering the areas of curriculum instruction, administration, policy, funding and related social issues, Education Research Complete is a database for education students, professionals and policymakers. Topics include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education and testing.

Open EBSCOhost and search Education Research Complete from the above link.
Below the search fields, Click Publications.
Enter the name of the journal where you want to find an article in the search box. See the example below:

At this point you can use the Search within this publication (directly below publication details) and add a search term, or you can browse individual issues by clicking on the year in the right hand column. The method you use will depend on your individual search preferences. If you have a topic in mind Search within this publication is probably the best approach; if you need to look for a topic, browsing an individual issue may be the best approach.