Guides: Political Science and International Studies: Mideast Meets Midwest Grant

Mideast Meets Midwest Grant

The resources below have all been funded by the Mideast Meets Midwest Grant.

The University of Central Missouri (UCM) was awarded a $422,524 grant in partnership with Southeast Missouri State University (SEMO) and Missouri State University (MSU) to fund a three-year consortial "Mideast meets Midwest" program.

The grant from the U.S. Department of Education's Undergraduate International Studies and Foreign Language Program enhances UCM's, SEMO's and MSU's respective Middle Eastern Studies programs, including strengthening online curriculum, and enhancing study abroad and undergraduate research opportunities.

Mideast eBook Collection
In this collection of ebooks, you'll find a diverse array of materials on the history, culture, politics and people of the Middle East.

Ethnic Diversity Source This link opens in a new window
This full-text database is a dedicated resource covering the culture, traditions, social treatment and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America. It provides full text from a growing list of sources including peer-reviewed journals, magazines, e-books, biographies and primary source documents.
Diversity & Ethnic Studies Ebook Collection This link opens in a new window
This an eBook collection counterpart to the Diversity and Ethnic Studies database. This is a dedicated resource covering the culture, traditions, social treatment and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America: African Americans, Arab Americans, Asian Americans, European, Americans, Jewish Americans, Latinx Americans, Native Americans, Multiracial Americans. Provides full text from a growing list of e-books.

Digital National Security Archive‎

This archive presents a vast, expertly curated, comprehensive collection of significant primary source documents, arranged in collections, that are central to U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945. The DNSA can also be searched within each of its subcollections, listed below.

CIA Family Jewels Indexed‎ This set reveals the CIA's most closely held secrets about their domestic intelligence activities they considered outside its charter, conducted at the height of the Cold War through 1973.
The Cuban Missile Crisis: 50th Anniversary Update‎ This collection marks the 50th anniversary of the Cuban Missile Crisis of 1962 with previously unpublished records from U.S. and Soviet archives.
Iran: The Making of U.S. Policy, 1977–1980‎ This set of documents focuses on United States policy towards Iran and events in Iran during the period of January 20, 1977, to January 29, 1980. More than 14,000 documents are presented.
The Iran-Contra Affair: The Making of a Scandal, 1983–1988‎ This collection provides an accounting of the political, military and paramilitary operations -- overt, covert and extra-official -- which served as the foundation for the most significant American scandal since Watergate.
Iraqgate: Saddam Hussein, U.S. Policy and the Prelude to the Persian Gulf War, 1980–1994‎ This collection focuses on two major issues central to the Iraqgate affair: 1) The U.S. policy toward Iraq in the 1980s up to the latter’s invasion of Kuwait in 1990. 2) The Banca Nazionale del Lavoro (BNL) affair in the summer of 1989.
Targeting Iraq, Part 1: Planning, Invasion, and Occupation, 1997-2004‎ Includes 2,141 documents on one of the most significant U.S. policy decisions of recent times, with records from official U.S. and British sources encompassing plans for regime change, war and occupation, the use of intelligence, and WMD.
Terrorism and U.S. Policy, 1968–2002‎ The principal focus of this collection is on international terrorism, beginning with the July 1968 hijacking of an El Al jet to Algiers, other incidents, and the 9/11 attack and aftermath.
U.S. Intelligence on Weapons of Mass Destruction: From World War II to Iraq‎ This collection documents U.S. intelligence concerning the most important weapons systems that other nations produced or tried to produce during World War II, the Cold War, and the post-Cold War era.
U.S. Policy toward Iran: From the Revolution to the Nuclear Accord, 1978-2015‎ This set combines White House records, intelligence analyses, diplomatic cables, terrorism reports and international inspection materials covering the gamut of issues in U.S.-Iran relations from the 1979 revolution to the 2015 nuclear deal.