JCKL Library Blog

Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000

WASM is a database that provides easy access to an extensive collection of primary resources, essays, images, book reviews, and websites. Users can find relevant information by searching a database or by reading essays published twice a year in a peer-reviewed journal by the same name. The journal has essays that examine such issues as political prisoners (such as Angela Davis), women who participated in the antislavery movement in the antebellum South, and women’s participation in the American revolution. Each volume provides book reviews of recent works on U.S. women’s history. The database also provides access to primary sources such as Notable American Women: A Biographical Dictionary (1971-2004), The History of Woman Suffrage, proceedings of the national conventions of women’s anti-slavery societies in the 1830s, and publications on the status of women since 1963.

Additionally, WASM provides strong support for instructors. Currently, there are 56 course lessons that touch on women’s participation in labor movements, peace movements, participation in antislavery movements, and post-civil war reconstruction. For example, the teaching strategy on “Anti-Lynching Campaigns, 1890-1942” directs students to compare black and white women’s approach to ending lynching. It provides links to primary documents, classroom activities, and a potential paper assignment.

Click to access Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000, or go to the  A to Z Database list and search “Women and Social Movements.” If you need help, contact a librarian for assistance.