JCKL Library Blog

School Library Connection with reVIEWS+.

A database with the user interface of a magazine, School Library Connection with reVIEWS+ is an evolution of the School Library Monthly and Library Media Connections magazines in a convenient digital format. Featuring self-paced professional learning modules, curriculum support, relevant topic searches, and a powerful search engine for book reviews, this database is a must-have for school librarians and library professionals.

In an age of book challenges, this database is essential for students of library science to gain access to critical book reviews, professional discourse on content, and educator guides for implementing school programming and instruction. Easy-to-use filters allow users to select media format types and grade level ranges to find content for students. With round-up lists for Top Titles, read-alikes, and current events, the database also functions as a readable blog. Librarians can also engage with content specific to hot topics like Information Literacy, Reading, Teaching Research, Collaboration, Equity and Inclusion, and Curriculum through the “Explore Topics” navigation bar.

Perhaps the most powerful addition is the database’s embedded courses and webinars, featuring dynamic videos with clear evidence of learning goals taught by an instructional design team of industry experts. The “Start Learning” navigation bar that encompasses these tools also includes articles, state certification information, and a glossary of library disciplinary vocabulary. Progress and proof of completion can be saved in individual profiles along with resource and product lists saved from other areas of the database.

Click to access School Library Connections with reVIEWS+, or go to the A to Z Database list and search "School Library Connection." For more information on this database contact Sara Evans at saraevans@ucmo.edu.