JCKL Library Blog

National Fire Codes

The National Fire Codes Subscription Service (NFCSS) is an online database providing access to the library of National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) codes and standards. The interface provides flexible access on multiple platforms such as laptop, tablet, phone, or desktop.

The database is regularly updated to reflect changes and revisions to codes and standards, ensuring that users have access to the most current information and includes historical versions of codes and standards, allowing users to track changes over time. Codes include additional handbooks with graphics and expert commentary to help you interpret the code. Access to the Fire Codes is valuable for a wide range of professionals involved in fire prevention and safety, including fire departments, building owners and managers, architects, engineers, contractors, and insurance companies. It provides a comprehensive source of information on best practices and requirements for fire protection, helping to ensure that buildings and facilities are safe and in compliance with relevant codes and standards.

To view a code, find the code you need by searching the code name. Note that previous editions are also listed when you click on the code. Then click on the year for the version of the code needed.

Codes are available to view only in HTML within the database, PDF versions are not available.

Click to access Fire Codes or go to the A to Z database list and search for "Fire Codes." For assistance with using the National Fire Codes, contact Sanja Gidakovic at gidakovic@ucmo.edu