If you have ever searched for scholarly articles but couldn’t quite find the exact article or book through JCKL, we have a great resource for you! Compiling information from libraries around the world, WorldCat is a shared catalog that indexes bibliographic records from over 10,000 participating libraries. The search feature for this catalog is called FirstSearch and includes detailed filters that let you specify your search with greater precision than most databases offer.
This resource can be especially useful when your research topic is very specific and requires numerous citations, articles, and special materials that our library doesn’t own. The network of libraries participating in WorldCat includes special collections, archives, and consortium libraries, so you’re more likely to find a match for your search right away. Best of all, because JCKL is a participating library, you can also connect to our free Interlibrary Loan service and send a request for the materials you find there right away. In most cases, you’ll receive electronic copy requests within a few days.
Always start your search using the A-to-Z Database link to WorldCat on our library website to ensure that you connect to the full catalog correctly. You should see University of Central Missouri highlighted in the Libraries section of your search results if the item is available through JCKL. If not, you can click the “Find Item at JCKL” link to be directed back to our site so you can place the Interlibrary Loan request.
For assistance with using FirstSearch, contact Sara Evans at saraevans@ucmo.edu
0 Comments.