Films on Demand offers a large variety of curriculum-focused, streaming video titles from producers such as Films for the Humanities and Sciences, PBS, A&E, History, ABCNews, BBC, NBC News, Shopware, Biography, National Geographic and others.
Counseling and Therapy in Video: Library provides students an invaluable firsthand look at the realities of working with clients and the challenges associated with putting theoretical concepts into practice. This series contains more than 2,400 hours of footage from actual therapy sessions, training videos, and reenactments conducted by renowned counseling professionals. The collection provides a thorough grounding in multiple therapeutic methods and diagnoses and training skills while working with specific populations such as veterans and teens.
Education in Video is an online video series designed specifically for the development and training of teachers. It helps students apply the abstract theory in their textbook to the knowledge in the classroom. The collection contains more than 1,650 hours of video allowing students to observe the intricacies of behavior that define effective teaching styles. The video content includes demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary-source footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms. Included in the collection are ready-to-use teaching tools, such as course, study, and discussion guides, assessment checklists, and themed playlists.
Kanopy provides a wide variety of streaming movies, documentaries, foreign films, and educational films. Users can create playlists and clips which can be shared or embedded into Blackboard. Kanopy films can be streamed through several services such as AppleTVand ROKU.
NBC News Learn is the education division of NBC News. It distributes content, live broadcasts, and extensive news archives. Videos and archival news stories are correlated to state standards and the Common Core, and aligned to more than 25 K-12 and 30 Higher Ed collections. Videos are generally short, less than six minutes in length.
The ProQuest platform for e-books purchased by the JCK Library. E-books can be viewed online and limited printing and downloading is available with the creation of a free account. Full downloading is also available with an Adobe account and Adobe Digital Editions software (freely available from Adobe). The database contains the Academic Complete collection with over 150,000 scholarly e-books.
ebrary is one of our more recent purchases. It is a mix of a database called Academic Complete which has over 70,000 downloadable and multiple use books and e-books that we purchase from ProQuest. Those purchased e-books will only be downloadable and have multiple users if we pay extra.