Music

Use the Advanced Search option in the Library Catalog and select JCKL Physical Materials Only (A). Enter key terms such as composer, title of the work, key, or opus number in the search box (B). Filter the search to Scores (C). If you do not find the score you are looking for in the list of results, you could use a popular title for the work, such as Moonlight Sonata. If you still cannot locate the score you need, you may use interlibrary loan to request material JCKL does not have.

Searching for scores can be challenging, but here are a few tips to get you started:

• Performers and composers are treated as authors in library catalogs and search tools
• Combine composers/performers, works, numbers (e.g. op. 105, k.545, BWV. 223), and keys for a more precise search. For example, search for Mozart + sonata + K. 545 + C major to locate Mozart's piano sonata no. 16 in C Major.

Browsing the Scores in JCKL

The collection is relatively small, which makes it easy to browse the scores on the shelf. The Library of Congress call numbers organizes scores by genre, then by composer. Indiana University provides  LC classification for particular instruments or ensembles. Call numbers consists of the letter M and a number. For example:

M 22 will have piano sonatas, and individual composers will be sorted by last name from A-Z.

Use the Advanced Search option in the Library Catalog and select JCKL Materials (A). In addition to CDs, JCKL has many recordings available through NAXOS, which is a streaming service. Enter key terms such as composer, title of the work, key, or opus number in the search box (B). Filter the search to Sound Recordings (C). Some of these resources are physical CDs, which are located on the third floor in the media section by call number. If you do not find the recording you are looking for, you could use a popular title for the work, such as Moonlight Sonata. If you still cannot locate the recording you need, you may try using interlibrary loan to request material JCKL does not have. Some libraries will load CDs.

JCKL's Interlibrary Loan (JCKL ILL) is system where you can get books, articles and other materials that are not available at the Kirkpatrick Library. Log in using the link below.

After logging in, you can request materials, check on the status of your requests, verify due dates for materials and request renewals for items you currently have checked out.

Digitized manuscript score collections and Archives

IMSLP: The International Music Score Library Project

One of the largest repositories of online scores

Specialized Collections

• 19th-Century California Sheet Music (UC Berkeley) A virtual library of some 2,700 pieces of sheet music published in California between 1852 and 1900, together with related materials such as a San Francisco publisher's catalog of 1872, programs, songsheets, advertisements, and photographs. Images of every printed page of sheet music from eleven locations have been scanned at 400 dpi, in color where indicated.
• Archive of Seventeenth-Century Italian Madrigals and Arias: (ASCIMA) This archive contains critical editions of seventeenth-century Italian madrigals and arias, together with introductions to the editions in Italian, German and English, and translations of the texts into English and German.
• Choral Public Domain Library: Contains free choral/vocal scores, texts, translations, and other useful information.
• The Classical String Quartet, 1770-1840: (Duke University) The David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library at Duke University has about forty collections of string quartets in parts dating from this time (about 1770-1840), most, though not all complete, and representing composers whose works are rarely found in modern editions. Digitization of these parts makes newly available for performance, study and recording a large and varied repertoire of works for this instrumental ensemble.
• Contemporary Music Scores Collection: (UCLA) The Contemporary Music Score Collection is published by the UCLA Music Library. The collection includes the digital, open access scores from the Contemporary Score Edition series, the first open access edition of new music published by a library, and scores from the Kaleidoscope 2020 Call for Scores, an open access collaboration with the UCLA Music Library. 
• DIAMM: (Digital Image Archive of Medieval Music) DIAMM (the Digital Image Archive of Medieval Music) is a leading resource for the study of medieval manuscripts. We present images and metadata for thousands of manuscripts on this website. We also provide a home for scholarly resources and editions, undertake digital restoration of damaged manuscripts and documents, publish high-quality facsimiles, and offer our expertise as consultants.
• Gallica (Bibliotheque nationale de France): From medieval music in square notation to 19th century symphonic works, from opera arias to street songs, discover Gallica's sheet music collection.
• Irish Sheet Music Archives: The Irish Sheet Music Archives website is the home of the online sheet music collections found in the Ward Irish Music Archives located in Milwaukee, Wisconsin.
• Juilliard Manuscript Collection: The Juilliard Manuscript Collection is an extraordinary collection of 140 priceless autograph manuscripts, sketches, engravers proofs and first editions, which were donated to the school in February 2006 by Juilliard Board Chairman Bruce Kovner.
• Lester S. Levy Collection of Sheet Music (Johns Hopkins University) Browse over 30,000 pieces of American popular music, dating as far back as 1780.
• The Mutopia Project: 2124 pieces of music – free to download, modify, print, copy, distribute, perform, and record – all in the Public Domain or under Creative Commons licenses, in PDF, MIDI, and editable LilyPond file formats.
• Music Library Digital Scores Collection: (University of Washington) The Music Library Digital Scores Collection contains manuscript musical scores dating from the 17th through 19th centuries. The majority of the collection is comprised of 17th and 18th century operas, opera excerpts, and other vocal music. The original manuscripts reside in the Music Library’s Rare Book Collection.
• New York Philharmonic Digital Archives: (scores and parts): The New York Philharmonic Shelby White & Leon Levy Digital Archives was launched in February 2011, and currently comprises more than four million pages, including printed programs, marked conducting scores, business documents, and photographs.
• Sheet Music Consortium: The Sheet Music Consortium provides tools and services that promote access to and use of online sheet music collections by scholars, students, and the general public.
• Sibley Music Library Scores (Eastman) Scores and books in the public domain. Many of these are unique to the Sibley Music Library collection.
• Women Composers Collection: (University of Michigan) A collection of mostly 19th- and early 20th-century musical scores by women composers held at the University of Michigan Music Library.
• WLSCM: (Web Library of Seventeenth-Century Music) The Web Library of Seventeenth-Century Music is a service offered by the Society for Seventeenth-Century Music, making available a growing catalogue of music in modern editions for scholars, performers, and students.

Library of Congress: The Library of Congress' digital collections are dynamic; they continually grow and change as new content is acquired, processed, and made available. Some specific music collections are listed below. https://www.loc.gov/collections/?sp=2

• Samuel Barber at the Library of Congress: The Library of Congress is the preeminent repository for manuscripts by American composer Samuel Barber (1910-1981), one of the most frequently performed and recorded American composers of the twentieth century. Numerous music manuscripts and printed scores by Barber, as well as correspondence, videos, and sound recordings of his works can be found throughout the library’s collections.
• Aaron Copland Collection at the Library of Congress; The first release of the online collection contains approximately 1,000 items that yield a total of about 5,000 images. These items date from 1899 to 1981, with most from the 1920s through the 1950s, and were selected from Copland's music sketches, correspondence, writings, and photographs.
• Elliott Carter Collection at the Library of Congress; Elliott Carter  (1908-2012) was one of the most innovative American composers of the twentieth century.  An extensive collection of his holograph scores and sketches are available in the Library of Congress, and a portion of these sketches have been made available online for researchers.  These sketches trace the composer's journey of discovery during the most defining part of his career: 1932-1971.
• Ernest Bloch Collection at the Library of Congress: This site features nineteen early manuscript compositions by composer Ernest Bloch (1880-1959), spanning the period from 1896 to 1916, and comprising a portion of the Ernest Bloch Collection at the Library of Congress.
• Felix Mendelssohn at the Library of Congress: Made available here are digital images of selected resources on this composer. This collection was created to mark the bicentennial of the birth of composer Felix Mendelssohn on February 3, 2009. The Library of Congress’s Music Division is one of the world’s major repositories of primary source material related to the composer.

• Music for the Nation: American Sheet Music, 1820-1860 & 1870-1885: Consists of over 47,000 pieces of sheet music registered for copyright during the years 1870 to 1885. Included are popular songs, piano music, sacred and secular choral music, solo instrumental music, method books and instructional materials, and music for band and orchestra.
• America Singing: 19th-Century Song Sheets: Contains 4291 song sheets. Included among these American songs are ninety-seven British song sheets from Dublin and London. The collection spans the period from the turn of the nineteenth century to the 1880s, although a majority of the song sheets were published during the height of the craze, from the 1850s to the 1870s. Held by the Rare Book and Special Collections Division of the Library of Congress.

Digital Archives:

• Bach Archiv Leipzig: »Bach digital« offers access to the works of the Bach family to everyone interested – with information about the work's origin and tradition as well as images of the manuscripts.
• Beethoven-Haus Bonn: The Beethoven-Haus Bonn association, founded in 1889, is the leading Beethoven centre. It strives to preserve Beethoven's work and heritage. The Beethoven-Haus houses the world's most significant Beethoven collection as well as a museum at Beethoven's birthplace.
• Brahms-Institut an der Musikhochschule Lübeck: The Brahms Institute is aimed at everyone who is interested in this important composer. It contains a unique collection with valuable music manuscripts, letters, photos and other sources on Johannes Brahms and his environment. These materials are available digitally to anyone who is interested.
• Bruckner-Online:  an extensive Anton Bruckner internet portal (web archive) which, in addition to the revised and expanded catalog raisonné , also contains the electronic documentation of handwritten sources, relevant people and places. In addition, complete digitized versions of the majority of the manuscripts and all first prints and the old complete edition are made available. 
• Munich DigitZation Center (MDZ): Provides the rich holdings of the Bavarian State Library (BSB) on the Internet since 1997.All digital copies of the MDZ are freely accessible on the Internet free of charge.