It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Computer Info Systems
Computer Information Systems use scholarly literature in the field as well as a variety of primary sources in researching current developments and best practices. If you have questions, please contact Rob Hallis.
ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) Digital Library provides access to citations and full-text access to journals, magazines, transactions, conference proceedings and newsletters. One of the most comprehensive collections of full-text articles and bibliographic records covering the fields of computing and information technology. Coverage dating back to 1947.
The Computing Database provides access to over 4.2 million full text articles from over 500 sources. In full-text format, all charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphic elements are accessible.
Applied Science & Technology is a research database providing access to full-text journals covering a wide variety of STEM disciplines, including artificial intelligence, applied mathematics, plastics, hydroponics, chemical engineering and robotics. Subjects include: acoustics, aeronautics, applied mathematics, atmospheric sciences, automotive engineering, fire prevention, manufacturing, and telecommunications. Includes indexing and abstracts for English-language scientific and technical publications dating back to 1909. It also includes full-text articles dating back to 1990 and page images with original illustrations, charts and photographs.
Academic Search Complete is a multidiciplinary database and a leading resource for scholarly research. Academic Search Complete includes full-text access to peer-reviewed journals in key areas of academic study, as well as indexing and abstracts for magazines, monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.
The O’Reilly for Higher Education digital platform includes more than 38,000 ebook titles and more than 30,000 hours of video. Topics range from programming to IT networking to project management to graphic design to business strategy. The content includes code snippets, certification preparation materials, practice exercises, training videos, and much more. Users can search thousands of books simultaneously online, saving time and quickly finding the information they need. There are also proven learning paths, case studies, interactive tutorials and audio books. Users also get access to exclusive O’Reilly content and as well as resources from more than 200 of the world’s best publishers.
Primo - JCKL Books
Selected Books on Computer Info Systems
Some of our books in this area are ebooks; books that can be accessed through the internet. If you have problems accessing these resources, please view help on accessing ebooks.
Designing and Deploying 802. 11 Wireless Networks by Jim GeierDesigning and Deploying 802.11 Wireless Networks Second Edition A Practical Guide to Implementing 802.11n and 802.11ac Wireless Networks For Enterprise-Based Applications Plan, deploy, and operate high-performance 802.11ac and 802.11n wireless networks The new 802.11ac standard enables WLANs to deliver significantly higher performance. Network equipment manufacturers have refocused on 802.11ac- and 802.11n-compliant solutions, rapidly moving older versions of 802.11 toward "legacy" status. Now, there''s a complete guide to planning, designing, installing, testing, and supporting 802.11ac and 802.11n wireless networks in any environment, for virtually any application. Jim Geier offers practical methods, tips, and recommendations that draw on his decades of experience deploying wireless solutions and shaping wireless standards. He carefully introduces 802.11ac''s fundamentally different design, site survey, implementation, and network configuration techniques, helping you maximize performance and avoid pitfalls. Geier organizes each phase of WLAN deployment into clearly defined steps, making the entire planning and deployment process easy to understand and execute. He illuminates key concepts and methods through realistic case studies based on current Cisco products, while offering tips and techniques you can use with any vendor''s equipment. To build your skills with key tasks, you''ll find several hands-on exercises relying on free or inexpensive tools. Whether you''re deploying an entirely new wireless network or migrating from older equipment, this guide contains all the expert knowledge you''ll need to succeed. Jim Geier has 30 years of experience planning, designing, analyzing and implementing communications, wireless, and mobile systems. Geier is founder and Principal Consultant of Wireless-Nets, Ltd., providing wireless analysis and design services to product manufacturers. He is also president, CEO, and co-founder of Health Grade Networks, providing wireless network solutions to hospitals, airports, and manufacturing facilities. His books include the first edition of Designing and Deploying 802.11n Wireless Networks (Cisco Press); as well as Implementing 802.1X Security Solutions and Wireless Networking Handbook. Geier has been active in the IEEE 802.11 Working Group and Wi-Fi Alliance; has chaired the IEEE Computer Society (Dayton Section) and various conferences; and served as expert witness in patent litigation related to wireless and cellular technologies. Review key 802.11 concepts, applications, markets, and technologies Compare ad hoc, mesh, and infrastructure WLANs and their components Consider the impact of radio signal interference, security vulnerabilities, multipath propagation, roaming, and battery limitations Thoroughly understand today''s 802.11 standards in the context of actual network deployment and support Plan your deployment: scoping, staffing, schedules, budgets, risks, feasibility analysis, and requirements Architect access networks and distribution system for maximum reliability, manageability, and performance Make the right tradeoffs and decisions to optimize range, performance, and roaming Secure WLANs via encryption, authentication, rogue AP detection, RF shielding, and policies Master design and site survey tools and methods for planning 802.11ac networks and migrations Efficiently install and test any 802.11ac or 802.11n wireless network Establish specialized support for wireless networks, including help desk operations Systematically troubleshoot connectivity, performance, and roaming issues Design efficient mesh networks and city-wide deployments
Publication Date: 2015-05-18
Multimedia Networking by Syed Mahbubur Rahman (Editor)Internet growth has pushed the development of multimedia applications and technologies like voice, data and video, in all aspects of life. This guide addresses the dynamic and efficient use of resources - a fundamental aspect of multimedia networks.
Publication Date: 2001-07-01
Top-Down Network Design by Priscilla OppenheimerTop-Down Network Design, 3rd Edition presents a systematic, fully practical approach to designing networks. Thoroughly updated for today's newest technical and business trends, it covers all facets of enterprise network design and all elements of modern enterprise networks. The authors' innovative top-down approach starts by focusing on applications and user requirements, and only then turns to technology selection. Readers will discover how to systematically analyse business and technical requirements, and then select topologies and technologies that reflect this analysis. The authors walk through designing campus networks, data centers, remote access, and wide-area connectivity, and designing for security in an era of wireless networks and mobile users. They also present detailed coverage of performance, reliability, and scalability. This edition includes new coverage of designing networks that comply with IT Service Management processes, as well as an updated glossary. It also adds chapter-ending essay questions and design scenarios for readers who want to test their understanding of key concepts.