Oxford Art Online features over 45,000 signed articles, 5,500 images, 40,000 image links, timelines of world art, and MoMA lesson plans. The database also includes access to the full text of the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, and the Oxford Companion to Western Art. Limit of 5 concurrent users.
JSTOR provides electronic access to back runs of more than 2,000 important scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutes, and primary sources. Due to "moving wall" agreements with the publishers, JSTOR does not include current issues of journals; the most recently published issue of any current journal will not appear in JSTOR until 1-5 years after the publishing date.
ArtSearch contains information about jobs; full-time or part-time, seasonal or year round, paid or volunteer. An individual user account must be created at http://www.tcg.org/Store/ARTSEARCH/ProductDetail/39. An access code can be obtained from Janette Klein, the Collection Management Coordinator. Email email@example.com Phone: 660-543-4159
Primo - JCKL Books
Selected books on Art
Some of our books in this area are ebooks; books that can be accessed through the internet. If you have problems accessing these resources, please view help on accessing ebooks,
Unfolded by Petra Schmidt; Nicola StattmannInUnfolded--Paper in Design, Art, Architecture and Industry paper conquers the third dimension and demonstrates the undreamed-of possibilities it holds today for lightweight construction, product design, fashion and art. From "Paper", the collection of bags by Stefan Diez, to Konstantin Grcic's paper models and the scented paper garments of Issey Miyake, this book presents paper as ahigh-quality contemporaryand ecologicalmaterial. Anenormous selection of projects, the lavish design and numerous illustrations provide designers with invaluable inspiration for their work. The content core of the bookis a comprehensive list of state-of-the-art paper productsand innovative paper technologies,supporting designers in their everyday work with detailedinformation on the "high-tech" material paper. From Japanese washi paper and paper foam, to ceramic paper and carbon fiber paper, Unfolded presents the latestin research and development, as well as the most important methods and technologies in handcrafts and industry.
Publication Date: 2012-11-05
Histories of Art and Design Education by Mervyn RomansThis Collection of fourteen essays by eleven different authors demonstrates the increasing breadth of enquiry that has taken place in art and design education history over the past two decades, and the expanding range of research models applied to the subject. The essays are grouped into six sections that propose the emergence of genres of research in the field - Drawing from examples, Motives and rationales for public art and design education in Britain, Features of institutional art and design education, Towards art and design education as a profession, Pivotal figures in the history of art and design education, and British/European influence in art and design education abroad. The rich diversity of subject matter covered by the essays is contained broadly within the period 1800 to the middle decades of the twentieth century. The book sets out to fill a gap in the current international literature on the subject by bringing together recent research on predominantly British art and design education and its influence abroad. It will be of specific interest to all those involved in art, design, and art and design education, but will equally find an audience in the wider field of social history.
Publication Date: 2005-01-01
Critical Studies in Art and Design Education by Richard Hickman (Editor)This book reviews past practice and theory in critical studies and discusses various trends; some papers keenly advocate a re-conceptualisation of the whole subject area, while others describe aspects of current and past practice which exemplify the "symbiotic" relationship between practical studio work and critical engagement with visual form. Rod Taylor, who has done much to promote and develop critical studies in the UK, provides us with examples of classroom practice and gives us his more recent thoughts on fundamental issues – "universal themes" in art – and gives examples of how both primary and secondary schools might develop their teaching of art through attending to themes such as "identity," "myth," and "environments" to help "re-animate the practical curriculum." Although some of the discussion in this book centres on or arises from the English National curriculum, the issues are more global, and relevant to anyone involved in developing or delivering art curricula in schools. An American perspective is given in papers by George Geahigan and Paul Duncum. Geahigan outlines an approach to teaching about visual form which begins with students' personal responses and is developed through structured instruction. In Duncum’s vision of ‘visual culture art education’ sites such as theme parks and shopping malls are the focus of students' critical attention in schools; Nick Stanley gives a lucid account of just such an enterprise, giving practical examples of ways to engage students with this particular form of visual pleasure. This publication serves to highlight some of the more pressing issues of concern to art and design teachers in two aspects. Firstly it seeks to contextualise the development of critical studies, discussing its place in the general curriculum – possibly as a discrete subject – and secondly it examines different approaches to its teaching.