HCBPS Librarian
Resources for HDFS 1010
The Library has many books on a wide variety of topics for you to use to find information for CFD 1010 but we also have other types of resources. including journals and videos. Both general and subject specific databases that may be helpful for your research.
Journals Recommended for HDFS 1010
The University of Central Missouri has several journals that would focus on families and the relationships within the family. To access UCM's journals, go to library.ucmo.edu, and toward the middle of the homepage where it says "Journal Directory." You should be able to find these journals using this directory. If you need help accessing a journal, remember to come to the circulation desk, chat with or e-mail a librarian, or come visit our librarians.
- Family relationsA peer-reviewed academic journal that publishes papers in the field of family studies. The journal's editor-in-chief is Constance L. Shehan (University of Florida). It was established in 1980 and is currently published by SAGE Publications.
- Journal of family issuesA peer-reviewed academic journal that publishes papers in the field of family studies. The journal's editor-in-chief is Constance L. Shehan (University of Florida). It was established in 1980 and is currently published by SAGE Publications.
- Journal of marital and family therapyQuarterly peer-reviewed academic journal published by Wiley-Blackwell on behalf of the American Association for Marriage and Family Therapy. The journal was established in 1975. The current editor-in-chief is Fred Piercy (Virginia Tech). The journal covers research, theory, clinical practice, and training in marital therapy and family therapy.
- Journal of Marriage and FamilyThe Journal of Marriage and Family (JMF), published by the National Council on Family Relations, has been the leading research journal in the family field for more than 70 years and is consistently the most highly cited journal in family science. JMF features original research and theory using the variety of methods reflective of the full range of social sciences, including quantitative, qualitative, and multi-method designs; research interpretation; integrative review; reports on methodological and statistical advances; and critical discussion concerning all aspects of marriage, other forms of close relationships, and families. The Journal also publishes brief reports.
Helpful Databases for HDFS 1010
Databases are enormous collections of articles, often peer reviewed, that can only be accessed by subscribers. UCMO provides its students with a great variety of databases on a whole host of topics. Home access is available with your UCMO credentials. To access the UCMO databases, go to library.ucmo.edu and select "Browse Databases" in the middle of the page. If you need help accessing the databases, please see the circulation desk in JCKL, chat with or e-mail a librarian or come seek help from a librarian in person.
- Consumer Health Database This link opens in a new windowConsumer Health Database covers a range of subjects, from sports injuries, women's health, food and nutrition to midwifery. It includes important general medical journals such as The Lancet and The New England Journal of Medicine as well as a strong selection of consumer and news magazines.
- Child Development and Adolescent Studies This link opens in a new windowProvides references to the current and historical literature related to growth and development of children through the age of 21.