Guides: ENGL 1030 Academic Argument Research Essay (Prof. Crew): Useful databases for researching media-related topics

Useful databases for researching media-related topics

A library database is a searchable collection of academic resources, such as journal articles, books, reports, and other scholarly materials, that is made available through your university library. These databases are used by students and researchers to find credible, peer-reviewed sources for academic work.

Communication Source This link opens in a new window
Communication Source supports research in Communication, Linguistics, Rhetoric and Discourse, Speech-Language Pathology, Media Studies and other fields relevant to the discipline. Over 1,700 sources are indexed.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A collection of journals, e-books, and primary sources, covering content in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences. New content for journals will not appear for 1-5 years after the publishing date.
Communication Studies: A Sage Full Text Collection This link opens in a new window
Search journals published by SAGE. Full text access is available to articles in journals subscribed to by the JCK Library. Subjects include Health, Life Sciences, Engineering, Social Science, and Humanities.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Databases across all major subject areas. The collection includes thousands of full-text scholarly journals, trade and professional titles, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, case studies, and market reports.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database and a leading resource for scholarly research. Includes full-text access to peer-reviewed journals in key areas of academic study, as well as indexing and abstracts for magazines, monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.