The Gale Virtual Reference Library contains a multidisciplinary collection of reference e-books. This database includes 154 volumes of the International Directory of Company Histories. The Social Sciences section house hundreds of guides to controversial topics.
A to Z World Business is a reliable, up-to-date digital media essential for researchers, educators, travelers, and logistics and international trade professionals. Subject areas include business, trade, import, export, business culture, and business travel including visa and passport requirements, immunization, customs entry requirements, and taxation.
The Oxford African American Studies Center provides students, scholars and librarians with more than 10,000 articles by top scholars in the fields of African American Studies and African and Diaspora Studies. The core content is taken from several academic reference books. Articles, primary sources, images and multimedia, maps, and data can be searched or browsed. There is a five concurrent user limit on this database.
CQ Researcher provides award winning in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. Our reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research. Graphics, photos and short "sidebar" features round out the reports. Shorter "Hot Topics" articles provide a solid introduction to subjects most in demand by students. Reports date back to 1991.
CultureGrams® is a leading reference for concise and reliable cultural information on the countries of the world providing country reports that go beyond mere facts and figures to deliver perspective on daily life and culture, including the background, customs, and lifestyles of the world's people. Individual reports on 200+ countries, written by in-country experts, are updated as new information becomes available.
This interface is designed specifically for general research in a public library. This interface is graphically rich and provides access to a wide range of materials. Now includes topic overviews that provide a starting point for research and 60,000 top videos from the Associated Press.
This database provides over 25000 encyclopedic entries and allows users to find high-quality information about almost any general topic. The database is searchable by subject or keywords within the entry.
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world. As a historical dictionary, the OED is very different from dictionaries of current English, in which the focus is on present-day meanings. You’ll still find present-day meanings in the OED, but you’ll also find the history of individual words, and of the language—traced through 3 million quotations, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.
The authoritative resource for music research with over 52,000 articles written by nearly 9,000 scholars charting the diverse history and cultures of music around the globe. Contains updated entries from the The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians (2nd ed), New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and New Grove Dictionary of Jazz (2nd ed). Limit of 8 concurrent users.
Plunket Research is a powerful business database for industry trends analysis, statistics, and profiles of public and private companies. Also corporate financials and executives. Industry analytics reports including industry benchmarks, industry financial statement averages, revenue forecasts, market size, statistics, company ranks and comparisons. Choose from 500 Industries, updated regularly. Corporate benchmark reports include deep, company-specific benchmarks, industry averages, analysis and comparison of top competitors, financial metrics, operating ratios, industry market forecasts from over 3,800 firms. Updated and republished regularly.
Science Reference Center is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full text science-oriented content. This database contains full text for nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, etc. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.
Something About the Author Online provides comprehensive online access to Gale's long-standing Something About the Author series, which examines the lives and works of authors and illustrators for children and young adults. The collection includes both the main series and Something About the Author Autobiography Series, totaling more than 217 volumes, 12,000 entries, and nearly 17,000 image. Entries typically cover: personal life, career, writings, works in progress, adaptations, and additional sources.
In print, the Statistical Abstract of the United States is a one-volume, comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Online it is 1400+ individually indexed tables (with attached spreadsheets), both searchable and browsable. Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web. Coverage from 2013-2019.
U.S. Political Stats is a powerful data download and visualization tool covering all three branches of the United States government. Bringing together valued content from sources like CQ Roll Call and CQ Press, users will discover a wealth of information on election returns, congressional floor votes, Supreme Court decisions, plus presidential performance and economic indicators, as well as diverse demographics. By harmonizing carefully vetted data into the same format—allowing quick downloads, comparisons, and visualizations—U.S. Political Stats provides power and context for researchers at all levels.
Data and visualization tool covering all three branches of the U.S. government, including election returns, congressional floor votes, Supreme Court decisions, plus presidential performance and economic indicators.