Applied Science & Technology is a research database providing access to full-text journals covering a wide variety of STEM disciplines, including artificial intelligence, applied mathematics, plastics, hydroponics, chemical engineering and robotics. Subjects include: acoustics, aeronautics, applied mathematics, atmospheric sciences, automotive engineering, fire prevention, manufacturing, and telecommunications. Includes indexing and abstracts for English-language scientific and technical publications dating back to 1909.
WGSN includes extensive coverage of the scientific and technological aspects of textile production and processing indexing and abstracting books, conferences, theses, technical reports, trade literature and over 470 periodical titles. Subjects range from apparel and home furnishings to manufacturing techniques and environmental issues.Access instructions: UCM access requires personal account setup as follows: First time users should click "Create a new account." Enter name and UCM email address. A confirmation email will be sent; follow email instructions to create a password.Returning users should click LOG IN on the upper right corner of the WGSN welcome page, and then again on the WGSN Fashion page; enter login credentials to proceed with full access.Personal accounts are valid for one semester, but can be reactivated in subsequent semesters as needed.
Provides a variety of legal, reference, medical, and governmental resources. Nexis Uni features more than 17,000 news, business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Includes company information and Shepard's Citation Service for legal decisions.
The ABI/INFORM Collection is comprised of ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The collection features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as The Economist and Sloan Management Review, country-and industry-focused reports, and major news sources like the Wall Street Journal. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
Find Books & Ebooks on Graphic Technologies
Selected Books & EBooks on Graphic Technologies
Some of our books in this area are ebooks. These are books that can be accessed through the internet. If you have problems accessing these resources, please view help on accessing ebooks.
Graphic Design Before Graphic Designers by David JuryA comprehensive retellingof the history of printingfrom 1700 to 1914 and acornucopia of visual andtechnical extravagance Who first coined the phrase "graphic design," a term dating from the 1920s,or first referred to themselves as a "graphic designer" are issues still arguedto this day. What is certain is that the kinds of printed material a graphicdesigner could create were around long before the formulation of such aconvenient, if sometimes troublesome, term.Here David Jury explores how the "jobbing" printer who producedhandbills, posters, catalogues, advertisements, and labels in the eighteenth,nineteenth, and early twentieth centuries was the true progenitor of graphicdesign, rather than the "noble presses" of the Arts and Crafts movement.Based on original research and aided by a wealth of delightful and fullycaptioned examples that reveal the extraordinary skill, craft, design sense,and intelligence of those who created them, the book charts the evolution of"print" into "graphic design." It will be of lasting interest to graphic designers,design and social historians, and collectors of print and printed ephemera alike.
Publication Date: 2012-11-05
The Story of Graphic Design by Patrick CramsieThis comprehensive illustrated history begins with the origins of the alphabet itself and carries the reader through the first handwritten books, the invention of printing in the Renaissance, the explosion of graphic styles (and printed media) in the 19th and 20th centuries, and the impact of digital technology on design today. Like E.H. Gombrich's magnificent Story of Art, The Story of Graphic Design is a compelling narrative that explores the evolution of styles under the pressure of social, cultural, and technological change, accompanied by a comprehensive selection of illustrations of key works in typography and design since the invention of writing. It covers a remarkable number of topics, from the art of the medieval manuscript to the birth of advertising to the workings of modern mass media. Unlike all other historians of design, Patrick Cramsie is able to bring a designer's eye to the analysis of visual communication. The Story of Graphic Design is an indispensible book for designers, historians, and students, and will find a wide readership among people who are interested in the visual arts or concerned about the future of the printed word.
Publication Date: 2010-05-01
The New Graphic Design School by David Dabner; Sheena Calvert; Anoki CaseyThe principles and practice of graphic design "Graphic Design School" is a foundation course for graphic designers working in print, moving image, and digital media. Practical advice on all aspects of graphics design-from understanding the basics to devising an original concept and creating successful finished designs. Examples are taken from all media-magazines, books, newspapers, broadcast media, websites, and corporate brand identity. Packed with exercises and tutorials for students, and real-world graphic design briefs. This revised, fourth edition contains specific advice on how to adapt designs to suit different projects, including information on digital imaging techniques, motion graphics, and designing for the web and small-screen applications.
Multidisciplinary E-books collection. Can be viewed online and limited printing and downloading is available with the creation of a free account. Full downloading is also available with an Adobe account and Adobe Digital Editions software (freely available from Adobe). The database contains the Academic Complete collection with over 200,000 scholarly e-books.
Multidisciplinary E-book collection. E-books can be viewed online. Limited downloading and printing is available with a free EBSCO account. Full downloading for offline reading is available with an Adobe account and Adobe Digital Editions (freely available from Adobe). Contains over 300,00 titles.