Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Create your own account in the LearningExpressLibrary database. Then use the search box to find practice tests for GMAT, GRE, LSAT, and other entrance exams. Click the image below for a direct link to LearningExpressLibrary.
On the Internet
In the Library
Use the link(s) below to discover information on your chosen career.
A Guide to Academia by
Call Number: Request Through JCKL ILL
A handbook for individuals thinking seriously about going to graduate school. This book explains all the steps and potential bumps in the road that might be encountered as students take the plunge into academia. Starting with an undergraduate student looking for a graduate school, the reader is taken on a journey up the academic ladder through graduate studies, a postdoctoral fellowship and an assistant professorship. Each chapter gives advice on how to survive the each stage but how to get to the next stage quickly.
From Student to Scholar by
Call Number: LB1778 .C26 2008
Covers an extensive range of critical issues in professorial life: planning, completeing, and defending a dissertation; navigating a job interview; improving teaching performance; preparing and publishing research; developing a professional network; and garnering support for tenure. The author deals with such hurdles as a difficult dissertation advisor, problematic colleagues, and the pressures of the tenure clock.
The Compleat Academic by
Call Number: H62 C584824 2004
"The Complete Academic provides practical advice to help new academics set the best course for a lasting and vibrant career. With humor and insight, leading academics share lessons they learned through their own hard experience. This guidance will help readers plan, play, and fulfill their potential in the academic career game."
Finding Researchers in Your Field
Identify researchers and/or institutional affiliations by topic or discipline and country in the Scopus database! Click the image for a direct link to the Scopus database.
Search for publications of specific researchers using the database of your choice; use the "author" search field with their last name first.
Also consider looking for a researcher's dissertation using the Dissertations and Theses database.
Did We Miss Something?
Please share additional resources you have discovered that may help others!
Click on "Comments" at the bottom of this box and helpful resources will be posted.