Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SOT 5010: Applied Research for Technology

Tips for SOT students working on their prospectus.

What is a Scholarly Resource?

As you begin looking for information on your topic, you will want to focus on finding scholarly resources.  A scholarly resource is normally the best type of information to use in graduate research.  A scholarly resource is:

  • written by experts on the topic for other experts on the topic
  • is signed 
  • usually includes author's credentials and current affiliations
  • includes bibliographic references
  • uses a specialized vocabulary

Popular vs. Academic Materials

A scholarly (or academic) resource is one that is written by experts in the field for experts in the field.  A popular resource is one that is written for the general public.  Your local newspaper is a popular resource.

Scholarly Journals Popular Magazines

Publication has a narrow scope or is limited to a specific field or sub-field of study; goal is to promote and disseminate scholarly research

Publication is designed for a broad, general audience; primary goal is to make a profit

Intended for academic or specialized audiences such as professors, researchers, students

Does not require expertise in the field to understand the information; designed for the general population

Has tables and graphics

Has pictures and media included

Has references, bibliographies, notes and/or works cited included

May have verified facts, but does not include references or bibliographies

Has little or no advertising; included advertising promotes books, journals, conferences

Has advertising

Has an author and author affiliations; authors are experts in their respective field

May or may not have an author listed; authors are generalists, journalists, or freelance writers

Published by a scholarly press or professional organization

Published by a for-profit entity

Editorial board of scholars in the field who review articles prior to publication in a process known as refereed or peer-review

Editor is a journalist who works for the publisher

Databases usually have some mechanism to search for only scholarly, or peer reviewed, articles. Look for a check box on the search screen which will allow you to limit search results to only scholarly journals if your professor requires a scholarly article.

What other professionals say about scholarly and popular sources

Technology Databases

Business Databases

Theses and Dissertations