ENGL 1030 Academic Argument Research Essay (Prof. Crew)

• You must include at least eight sources for your paper.  
• Use scholarly sources. Scholarly typically means that the source has been "peer-reviewed," which is a lengthy editing and review process by other researchers considered experts in that field. Scholarly sources are often journal articles or books, but can also be primary or secondary research.
• Your paper must include a works cited page, and your paper must follow MLA conventions, which includes in-text citations whenever you quote and whenever you summarize a source.  Use in-text citations when you write about anything that is not either common knowledge or your own idea/opinion.  

Refer to Blackboard for the full assignment description.

• Write a 2000 word essay in which you make an argument concerning the media.
• Select a very narrow subject, such as a single news article or program about a subject that is controversial so that you can argue in favor of a position. 
• Your paper must contain a section where you address the opposition's viewpoints, and either rebut them, or concede to them.

There are lots of ways to identify topics. See below for some tips to help you get started. Talk to your librarian if you need help.

• Make sure you find something that intrigues you, whether it's related to your studies, hobbies or current events. It should be narrow enough to manage the scope of this paper, but rich enough to sustain your interest.
• Try putting a general topic into a multidisciplinary library database such as Academic Search Complete and using the subject filter on the left to see what other subjects have been combined with that topic. 
• Search for the topic on Google Scholar to scan the most recent articles.
• Ask questions that target specific issues within your broader topic. 
• Define the scope by limiting your topic to a particular time period, location, demographic or specific aspect. Consider the length of your assignment.

A library database is a searchable collection of academic resources, such as journal articles, books, reports, and other scholarly materials, that is made available through your university library. These databases are used by students and researchers to find credible, peer-reviewed sources for academic work.

Scholarly sources are materials that have been written and reviewed by experts in a specific academic field. These sources are used in research to provide credible, reliable, and authoritative information. For university students, understanding the value of scholarly sources is crucial for academic writing and research.

Characteristics of Scholarly Sources:

1. Authored by Experts:
   • Scholarly sources are written by researchers, scholars, or professionals who have expertise in their field. The authors typically hold advanced degrees and are affiliated with academic institutions or research organizations.
2. Peer-Reviewed:
   • Most scholarly sources undergo a peer-review process, meaning that other experts in the field evaluate the work before it is published. This ensures the research is of high quality and accuracy.
3. Academic Language:
   • Scholarly sources use formal, technical, and precise language suited for academic discussion. They are often dense with information and include complex analyses, theories, and methodologies.
4. Citations and References:
   • Scholarly articles cite the work of other scholars to build upon existing research. They include a bibliography or reference list, allowing readers to track the sources used in the research.
5. Published in Academic Journals or Books:
   • Scholarly sources are often found in peer-reviewed academic journals, books from academic presses, or conference proceedings. Common databases to find them include JSTOR, PubMed, and Google Scholar.

Examples of Scholarly Sources:

• Journal Articles: Research studies, reviews, or theoretical papers published in journals like Nature, The Journal of Communication, or Psychological Science.
• Books: Monographs or edited volumes published by university presses (e.g., Oxford University Press, Harvard University Press).
• Conference Papers: Presentations and papers from academic conferences that provide the latest research findings.

Why Use Scholarly Sources?

• Credibility: They provide well-researched, thoroughly vetted information, ensuring your work is based on accurate and reliable data.
• Depth of Knowledge: Scholarly sources offer in-depth analysis and insight into a specific topic, which is essential for making well-supported arguments in research papers.

Using scholarly sources in your academic work shows that you have engaged with expert knowledge and are contributing to scholarly discussions.

Primary Peer-Reviewed Scholarly Sources

• Definition: Primary sources are original research or firsthand accounts of an event, study, or experiment. They present new findings, data, or observations that have been conducted or recorded by the author(s).
• Examples:
  • Original research articles presenting experimental results or data
  • Case studies
  • Clinical trials or fieldwork reports
  • Dissertations or theses based on new research
• In Media Studies: A primary source might be a content analysis of news coverage, a study measuring the effects of social media on behavior, or an interview with a key media figure.
• How to Identify: Look for sections like "Methods," "Results," and "Discussion," which indicate that new data or research is being presented. These articles often use empirical data and specific research questions.
• Example: A study examining the effects of TikTok on political activism based on survey data collected directly from users.

Secondary Peer-Reviewed Scholarly Sources

• Definition: Secondary sources are analyses, critiques, or syntheses of primary research. They provide a summary, interpretation, or evaluation of existing research rather than introducing new data or findings.
• Examples:
  • Literature reviews
  • Meta-analyses (studies that aggregate the findings of many primary studies)
  • Scholarly critiques or commentaries on existing research
  • Theoretical articles that discuss or review existing studies and trends
• In Media Studies: A secondary source could be a review of the research on the representation of race in media over the past decade, or an analysis of trends in celebrity culture based on various studies.
• How to Identify: Secondary sources often cite multiple primary studies and focus on analyzing or interpreting the broader body of research rather than presenting new findings.
• Example: An article summarizing multiple studies on how Instagram influences body image perceptions without presenting new experimental data.

Key Differences

• Purpose: Primary sources are used to present new research, while secondary sources are used to summarize or interpret existing research.
• Use in Research: You can use primary sources to find direct evidence or data to support your arguments, while secondary sources help you understand the broader context or consensus in a field of study.
• Peer-Reviewed: Both types of sources can be peer-reviewed, ensuring their quality and credibility in academic research.

Why Both Are Important

• Primary sources provide the foundation for new insights and original contributions to a field.
• Secondary sources help researchers understand the broader scope of existing knowledge, connect related findings, and identify gaps in the literature for future research.

Example in Practice:

Let’s say you’re writing an essay on the effects of influencer marketing. You might use:

• A primary source: An original study that measures the impact of influencer endorsements on consumer purchasing decisions.
• A secondary source: A literature review that summarizes different studies on influencer marketing and its effectiveness.

Understanding the distinction between these two types of sources helps you build a well-rounded, credible research paper.

Need more information? See this page for further assistance.