Skip to main content

McNair Scholar Services

Provides a guide to library services for McNair Scholars

Theses & Dissertations

Finding a Dissertation or Thesis

The library has a substantial thesis collection but few dissertations.  The most comprehensive source of dissertations and theses in all disciplines is the database Dissertations and Theses.  This resource is available to all users in the library; current UCM students, faculty, and staff members may also access it remotely.  Search tip: Try changing the search default  from searching "anywhere" to "document title" to look for words in the title. Dissertations use a very "academic" writing style and the titles tend to be long and descriptive, so searching for a title word can be helpful. 

Students researching education topics should also check the ERIC database, as some dissertations are available there.  Be sure to limit the publication type to Dissertations/Theses in order to restrict your search results.

You may also want to check a resource available on the free web: PQDT Open. This site makes many theses and dissertations available in electronic format. 

UCM Thesis Collection

Kirkpatrick Library has always kept a print copy of each thesis a UCM student has written; these are found on the third floor of the library and are available to be checked out.  We also have an archival copy in our Special Collections area. These can’t be checked out, but if the circulating copy is missing, you can use the other copy in the library. Because the thesis collection is arranged by the last name of the author, rather than by subject, it’s a difficult collection to browse. 

For that reason, you might want to use the Advanced Search mode in Quest to look for a thesis on your topic. For instance, to find a thesis in Kirkpatrick Library about academic achievement, select the Advanced Search mode.  Using the dropdown menu, search for the word thesis in the LC Subject field and enter academic achievement in another box. 

In 2011, the university stopped printing theses and now keeps a digital copy of each thesis in the library's repository, JCKL Digital, which serves as UCM's permanent digital storehouse.