Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LSAMP

This page will provide tips and links for all your library research needs as a student participating in LSAMP.

Finding Scholarly Articles

1. Use Library Databases

The library subscribes to many databases that include access to scholarly journals. Some databases will only index scholarly journals, however, some databases index articles, book chapters, technical reports etc. Databases offer ways for you to limit your search results to only scholarly journal articles. Listed below are various multidisciplinary and subject specific databases in the sciences where you can access scholarly literature, books, technical reports, standards, and more.

2. Use Google Scholar

Google Scholar indexes a variety of literature including scholarly journal articles however, it does not have a way to limit results to only scholarly journals.

3. Look for References from the Literature

Look backwards in the literature by looking at the references in the works cited section.

Look forward in the literature by seeing who cited an item. Some databases like Google Scholar give you Cited By references.

Contact a librarian if you need further help on choosing a database and finding literature.

Multidisciplinary Databases in STEM

Subject Specific Databases in STEM

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

Google Scholar is a good resource for finding scholarly sources online but if it doesn't know that you have rights to access online articles and other sources from a library, it might send you to a page which asks you to pay for the article you want.

With a few adjustments to your preferences, you can tell Google Scholar to point you to the resources that the library provides for the UCM community.

Before you get started, change your "Settings" so that Google Scholar knows you are affiliated with University of Central Missouri (UCM) when working off-campus.

Follow these steps to add UCM to your Google Scholar preferences:

1. Go to https://scholar.google.com/

2. Click "Settings" in the left menu bar

undefined

3. Click "Library links" on the left side of the screen:

4. In the search box, type University of Central Missouri 

5. Check the boxes that appear

6. Click "Save" 

 

undefined