STEM Librarian
Sanja Gidakovic
Contact:
JCKL 1115
660-543-4683
Subjects: Actuarial Science and Statistics (Minor, BS), Agricultural Science (Minor, BS, Certificate), Athletic Training (MS), Automotive Technology Management (BS), Aviation Safety (MS), Behavior Analysis (MS), Bioinformatics (BS, Certificate), Biology (BS, MS, Certificate), CADD (Minor), Chemistry (Minor, BS), Computer Science (Minor, BS, MS), Construction Management (Minor, BS), Cybersecurity (Minor, BS, MS, Certificate), Design and Drafting Technology (BS), Dietetics (BS), Earth Science (Minor), Electronics Technology (Minor), Engineering Technology (BS), Fashion (Minor, BS, Certificate), Foods (Minor), Geographic Information Systems (GIS) (Minor), Geography (Minor), Health Studies (Minor, BS), Industrial Hygiene (MS), Industrial Management (MS, Certificate), Information Technology (BS), Kinesiology (BS, MS), Manufacturing (Minor), Mathematics (Minor, BS, MS, Certificate), Medical Laboratory Science (BS), Networking Technology (BS), Nursing (BS, Certificate, MS), Nutrition (Minor, MS), Physics (Minor), Psychology (Minor, BSBA, MS), Radiologic Technology (BS), Safety (Minor), Science (Minor), Software Engineering (BS), Sport Nutrition (Minor), Systems Engineering Technology (BS), Technology (Certificate, MS), Technology Management (BS, PhD)
The literature review
In psychology, the literature review is typically a specific section of a research paper/article that articulates what is already known on the topic at hand. We think about the literature review in two ways, exploratory and explanatory.
The exploratory phase is when you, as the researcher, search the literature on your research question to learn more about the topic and determine what resources you will use in your own research. You are exploring pre-existing knowledge to gain deeper understanding of the topic.
In the explanatory phase, you succinctly write a thorough summary of the research done on the research topic. This often includes descriptions of findings and research methods used in prior studies. This section of your research paper is intended to bring your audience up-to-speed on the topic as well as demonstrate your expertise in the area.
Psychology Research Methods Databases
- APA PsycInfoThe APA PsycInfo from the American Psychological Association (APA), includes abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Provides citations and abstracts to journal articles in the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, social work, education, business, pharmacology, physiology, law, linguistics. Includes international material selected from periodicals in dozens of languages. Coverage from 1800 to present.
- APA PsycTestsProduced by the American Psychological Association (APA), The APA PsycInfo from the American Psychological Association (APA) is arepository for the full text of psychological tests and measures as well as a source of structured information about the tests. The APA PsycTests database is an extensive collection of items associated with psychological measures, scales, surveys, and other instruments essential to the research needs of professionals, students, and educators across the behavioral and social sciences. APA PsycTests indexes a wide variety of measurement instruments and their psychometric properties. APA PsycTests is an authoritative source of structured information about tests of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. While focused on contemporary instances of test use, coverage spans more than a century.
- Mental Measurements YearbookDatabase of consumer-oriented test reviews including descriptive information, professional reviews, and reviewer references. Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced professionals, the series contains information for evaluating test products in psychology, education, business and leadership. Content includes full-text reviews of contemporary testing instruments and all previous editions of the yearbook dating back to 1938. Limit of 4 concurrent users.
- Psychology DatabasePsychology Database provides abstracts and indexing of key psychology journals. Users get access to charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements essential to psychological research. Health and social care professionals will also find this database useful and accessible. The Psychology Database combines high impact full text from leading psychology and psychosomatic publications, with diverse sources of content including dissertations and training videos to help new students bridge theory with practice. In addition to clinical and social psychology, it also provides coverage of related disciplines including genetics, psychology of business and economics, communication, criminology, addiction, neurology, social welfare, and more.