Full text for more than 1,200 health and medical journals, plus hundreds of health brochures for consumers and health administrators.
Journals and Professional Publications
The library has access to many online and paper subscriptions to aviation publications. Here is a sampling.
Chronicle of Kinesiology & Physical Education in Higher Education
International journal of kinesiology and sports science
Research in kinesiology
Journal of sports medicine
Books and eBooks
by William D. McArdle; Frank I. Katch; Victor L. Katch
Call Number: QP301 .M375 2015
Publication Date: 2014-02-24
Setting the standard for more than 30 years, Exercise Physiology has helped more than 350,000 students build a solid foundation in the scientific principles underlying modern exercise physiology. This Eighth Edition is updated with the latest research in the field to give you easy-to-understand, up-to-date coverage of how nutrition, energy transfer, and exercise training affect human performance. Get quick access to the resources available to help you master each section of the text with "Ancillaries at a Glance." Maximize your study time with the book's vibrant, "magazine style" design that makes the content more engaging and accessible and key information easier to find. Reinforce your understanding with Chapter Objectives, Integrative Questions that pose open-ended questions for reflection on complex concepts, and FYI sections that offer "good to know" information. Gain an understanding of how researchers contribute to our knowledge of exercise physiology through engaging section-opening interviews with key figures in the field. Learn how theoretical concepts relate to practical skills through "In a Practical Sense" features. Access the most relevant current information in the field through figures and tables that clarify important concepts and information. Gain an understanding of the past, present, and future of the profession through coverage of important milestones and future directions in the field. Visit the free companion website for anywhere, anytime access to over 30 animations of key exercise physiology concepts, the book's complete list of references, and more.
Handbook of Neurological Sports Medicine
by Anthony L. Petraglia; Julian E. Bailes; Arthur L. Day
Call Number: RD97 .P4816 2015
Publication Date: 2014-08-28
"Handbook of Neurological Sports Medicine: Concussion and Other Nervous System Injuries in the Athlete" presents techniques for diagnosis and treatment of head-related injuries to enable medical professionals to provide the best care possible. Authored by a respected team of neurosurgeons, including highly regarded concussion researcher Julian Bailes, this evidence-based reference offers expert guidelines for managing these serious injuries. A strong focus is placed on concussion due to the risk involved with this common injury. The text outlines how to recognize, assess, and treat concussions, preparing practitioners to calmly respond to athletes who are exhibiting signs of this dangerous condition. It also reviews the biomechanics and pathophysiology at the core of concussions to better understand their clinical presentations. Critical return-to-play guidelines and participation recommendations for patients with preexisting neurological conditions or structural lesions arm medical professionals with the principles needed for making appropriate decisions for athletes' safety. The text explains the roles of pharmacological management, natural treatment approaches, rehabilitation strategies, and education. In addition, chapters provide coverage of postconcussion syndrome, subconcussion, and second-impact syndrome. "Handbook of Neurological Sports Medicine" also takes a look at other traumatic injuries, including injuries to the cervical, thoracic, and lumbar spine, and the soft tissue and fascia within the spinal unit. It provides an overview of peripheral nervous system injuries to ensure medical professionals understand those serious and potentially career-ending issues, reviews facets of optimal response with suspected or proven spinal injury, and discusses the evaluation and management of athletes with non-concussion-related headaches and heat illness or heatstroke. The text includes additional features to address issues surrounding critical injuries: - Guidance on developing an action plan for athletic events prepares first responders for emergency situations. - A review of cases of interest provides examples of situations that can--and do--occur. - Medicolegal considerations educate practitioners about negligence, standard of care, and proximate cause. - More than 150 photos and illustrations offer visual support to further explain the injuries. The evaluation and management of sport-related neurological injuries have matured at an unprecedented rate. "Handbook of Neurological Sports Medicine" is a critical resource for all who encounter and treat neurological injuries, providing the foundation for the clinical decisions that all athletic medical practitioners must make to give their patients the best treatment possible. Continuing education credits and units may also be earned based on the subject matter in this book. Explore online CE course options in Human Kinetics' Continuing Education store.
Sports-Related Concussions in Youth
by Joe Haldeman (Editor); Frederick P. Rivara (Editor); Morgan A. Ford (Editor); Carol Mason Spicer (Editor); Sports-Related Concussions in Youth Commission; Board on Children, Youth and Families Staff; Institute of Medicine Staff; National Research Council Staff; Robert Graham (Editor)
Call Number: Shared E-Resource RC394.C7
Publication Date: 2014-03-04
In the past decade, few subjects at the intersection of medicine and sports have generated as much public interest as sports-related concussions - especially among youth. Despite growing awareness of sports-related concussions and campaigns to educate athletes, coaches, physicians, and parents of young athletes about concussion recognition and management, confusion and controversy persist in many areas. Currently, diagnosis is based primarily on the symptoms reported by the individual rather than on objective diagnostic markers, and there is little empirical evidence for the optimal degree and duration of physical rest needed to promote recovery or the best timing and approach for returning to full physical activity. "Sports-Related Concussions in Youth: Improving the Science, Changing the Culture" reviews the science of sports-related concussions in youth from elementary school through young adulthood, as well as in military personnel and their dependents. This report recommends actions that can be taken by a range of audiences - including research funding agencies, legislatures, state and school superintendents and athletic directors, military organizations, and equipment manufacturers, as well as youth who participate in sports and their parents - to improve what is known about concussions and to reduce their occurrence. "Sports-Related Concussions in Youth" finds that while some studies provide useful information, much remains unknown about the extent of concussions in youth; how to diagnose, manage, and prevent concussions; and the short- and long-term consequences of concussions as well as repetitive head impacts that do not result in concussion symptoms. The culture of sports negatively influences athletes' self-reporting of concussion symptoms and their adherence to return-to-play guidance. Athletes, their teammates, and, in some cases, coaches and parents may not fully appreciate the health threats posed by concussions. Similarly, military recruits are immersed in a culture that includes devotion to duty and service before self, and the critical nature of concussions may often go unheeded. According to "Sports-Related Concussions in Youth," if the youth sports community can adopt the belief that concussions are serious injuries and emphasize care for players with concussions until they are fully recovered, then the culture in which these athletes perform and compete will become much safer. Improving understanding of the extent, causes, effects, and prevention of sports-related concussions is vitally important for the health and well-being of youth athletes. The findings and recommendations in this report set a direction for research to reach this goal.