This is the "Home" page of the "Keeping Up With The Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Keeping Up With The Library  

Last Updated: Mar 4, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.ucmo.edu/jcklupdates Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Whimsical Logo

 

Welcome!

This guide will collect topics of interest for those interested in keeping up with the JCKL library. New topics will be added at the top of the middle column on this guide.

 

TRIAL DATABASES

The library provides temporary access to databases which are under consideration for purchase. The list of these databases, called "trial databases" are linked from the library's home page. To find out more, watch the 3-minute video linked here:

 

OVERDRIVE

Electronic books, or ebooks, are books that have been digitized for reading or listening when downloaded to an electronic device. Watch this 5-minute video to learn about OverDrive, one of the many ebook providers at the James C. Kirkpatrick Library.

Unable to display content. Adobe Flash is required.
 

RESEARCH GUIDES

View this 5-minute video to learn about the many subject specific research guides, created by library faculty at JCKL!

 

ELECTRONIC JOURNAL SEARCH

To discover what journal titles can be accessed through the myriad of resources at JCKL, simply watch the five-minute video linked below!

HINT: Includes both paper and electronic formats!

 

OFF-CAMPUS ACCESS

A frequent question received at JCKL is how to access library databases from off campus.  Below are four simple steps to follow. Those with inquiring minds who want more details, please click here.

1. Access the database from the JCKL home page. Point your browser to http://library.ucmo.edu OR go through MyCentral's "Library" tab OR click on the "Library" button from the UCM home page. (HINT: DO NOT access the database via Google.)

2. Choose the desired database. Central Search (which searches across multiple databases in a single query) is front & center on the Library home page OR an A-Z list of databases is accessible through the "Online Databases" link OR hover the cursor over the "Online Resources/Databases" button and select one of the database options in the drop-down menu.

3. Enter the same credentials used to access Blackboard (otherwise known as your UCM Network User ID & Password) when you see this screen:

 

4. You will then be passed through to the database. 


MORE DETAILS

1. Access the database from the JCKL Home Page. Many times people use Google to find a database website. For example, one can Google for "EbscoHost" but the entry to the resulting databases is not the same entry as when accessed through the Library's home page. When the databases are reached through a Google search, your UCM Network credentials will not work.

2. Choose the desired database. Nearly all of the subscription databases are available from off campus. Look for the red checkmark in the "Off Campus" column, located on the far right of the A-Z list if you want to double check this.

3. Enter the same credentials used to access Blackboard. By contractual agreements between JCKL and the database providers, access is limited to current students, faculty, and staff.  When UCM credentials are used, the computer system is verifying that you are a current member of the UCM community.

4. You will then be passed through to the database. You should not need to re-enter your login information again unless you begin a new search session.

 

DISSERTATIONS & THESES IN FULL TEXT

You spoke & we listened!  The library now offers access to the ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text database (formerly known as Dissertations Abstracts) which offers full text of graduate works since 1997, and selected full text for works prior to 1997.

 Dissertations & Theses is listed under "D" in our A-Z list of databases, or, you can try it now by clicking on this image:

    NOW IN FULL TEXT!

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip