K-12 to higher education database indexing over 1800 journals, more than 1000 full text.
Books and eBooks
A few sample titles of the types of books and eBooks available at Kirkpatrick Library.
Research Methods in Kinesiology and the Health Sciences
by Susan Hall; Nancy Getchell
Call Number: GV361 .H35 2014
Publication Date: 2014-02-24
Wolters Kluwer Health is pleased to introduce this innovative first edition by acclaimed authors Susan Hall and Nancy Getchell aimed at helping students learn vital research skills in an accessible manner.nbsp; Designed for introductory research methods courses at the beginning graduate and undergraduate levels, Research Methods in Kinesiology includes all major topics conventionally addressed in introductory research methods texts. Taking a practical approach, this book focuses on topics directly related to development of research proposals, since these topics are most relevant to beginning researchers With unique chapters on research writing style and matching statistical tools with research protocols, readers will find this book written in a conversational tone intended to make the topic more readily understood by today's student.nbsp; Problem-based learning activities help students apply the skills they've learned and prepare for actual research. An online suite of ancillaries rounds out this book and provides instructors with additional support in teaching this critical topic.
Health Education: Creating Strategies for School and Community Health
by Glen G. Gilbert; Robin G. Sawyer; Elisa Beth McNeill
Call Number: RA440.5 .G48 2015
Publication Date: 2014-08-28
Discover the Tools You Need to Become Proficient in Conducting Health Education Programs -- Inside and Outside the Classroom!The skills necessary to plan and deliver effective health education programs are fundamentally the same in the classroom, workplace, hospital, and community settings. The Fourth Edition of Health Education: Creating Strategies for School and Community Health assists health educators in making appropriate program planning decision based on the needs of their clients and the educational settings. The authors encourage the systematic development of sound presentation methods and illustrate the evolving state of health education.The philosophy presented in this text is based on the premise that the core of health education is the process of health education. The Fourth Edition is a must-have resource for health education methods courses.New and Key Features:Includes new information on Healthy People 2020, MyPlate, and 2010 Dietary guidelines.Provides the latest information on the use of technology in health educationIncorporates health educator competencies, case studies, objectives, questions, and exercises in each chapterIncludes expanded content on health literacyDiscusses the unique qualities of adult learners
Nutrition and Performance in Master Athletes
by Peter R. J. Reaburn (Editor)
Call Number: RC1235 .N85 2015
Publication Date: 2014-10-15
Addresses the Aging Process and Its Effect on Sports Performance Age-related changes influence all physiological systems, including those used during exercise and sport. Highlighting masters athletes--older adults who train and compete in organized sports--Nutrition and Performance in Masters Athletes examines the extent to which regular physical training can impact these changes. This book bridges the gap between theory and practice, addressing nutritional, exercise and sport sciences, and the actual performance of masters athletes and older exercisers. It reviews in detail many age-related changes that occur in the physiological systems, provides implications of these changes for masters athletes, coaches and clinicians, explores scientifically-based methods to maximize sprint, strength and power, team sport players, endurance and ultra-endurance performance, and focuses on the unique nutritional needs of master athletes. Examines the Growing Body of Knowledge on Masters Athletes Each chapter has been written by a world-leading authority in their field. Contributors focus on a specific topic and discuss available research. Incorporating information from studies on younger and older athletes and healthy older non-athletes, they help determine the training and nutrition implications for sports medicine professionals and clinicians, masters athletes and coaches, and future research directions for academic and postgraduate students. The book includes material on endurance, ultra-endurance, speed, strength and power, and team sports athletes. Sections cover macronutrients (carbohydrate, fat and protein needs), micronutrients (vitamin and mineral needs), fluids and hydration; supplements and ergogenic aids, nutrition for chronic disease, and the training/nutrition needs of every type of masters athletes. Nutrition and Performance in Masters Athletes is highly recommended for medical and health professionals, fellow academics, postgraduates with an interest in masters athletes, as well as masters athlete coaches and masters athletes, and administrators wanting to assist their members.
A sample of the journals in this field found at Kirkpatrick Library