English

The MLA International Bibliography is the definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film, covering scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present. It is a searchable online database of more than 3 million records and constantly updated by scholars in the field. International in scope, it includes citations to journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations, with links to full text in JSTOR, Project MUSE, and other resources.

Gale Literary Sources allows users to search all of the Gale literature databases provided by the JCK Library. The database searches the Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online, Something About the Author Online, and Literature Criticism Online. The Literature Criticism Online database provides full text articles in 19th and 20th century criticism, Shakespeare criticism, and short story criticism.

Provides electronic access to back runs of scholarly journals, literary journals, academic monographs, research reports, and primary sources. Due to agreements with the publishers, JSTOR does not include current issues of journals; the most recently published issue of any current journal will not appear in JSTOR until 1-5 years after the publishing date.

Project MUSE provides access to e-books and journals in the humanities and social sciences. UCM access is limited to open source materials or material purchased by the JCK Library. Users can choose to search for available content or all content. Content that is not available can be requested through Interlibrary Loan.

Primarily literature resources such as Critical Insights and Magill's Literary Annual. Other titles in Music, Chemistry, and Health are also available.

The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world. As a historical dictionary, the OED is very different from dictionaries of current English, in which the focus is on present-day meanings. You’ll still find present-day meanings in the OED, but you’ll also find the history of individual words, and of the language—traced through 3 million quotations, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books. An interactive graphic illustrates how words are added to the dictionary.

The Times Digital Archive is an online, full-text facsimile of more than 200 years of The Times (London), one of the most highly regarded resources for eighteenth-, nineteenth-, and twentieth-century news coverage, with every page of every issue from 1785 through 2014. This historical newspaper archive allows researchers an unparalleled opportunity to search and view the best-known and most cited newspaper in the world online in its original published context.

Covering the areas of curriculum instruction, administration, policy, funding and related social issues, Education Research Complete is a database for education students, professionals and policymakers. Topics include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education and testing.

Includes full-text journals and dissertations, supporting research on the theory and practice of education. Education Database covers literature on primary through Secondary Education (BSE), higher education, special education, home schooling, adult education, and hundreds of related topics.

Also known as Education Resource Information Center, this database provides access to literature in the field of education, with many links to the full-text documents.