Periodical Indexes, Articles, and Business Press
- ABI/INFORM CompleteA comprehensive business database including the Wall Street Journal , company profiles, product data, trade and industry information, local and regional business news, and business research journals.
- Academic Search CompleteMultidisciplinary database of scholarly and peer reviewed journals dating back to 1975.
- Article 1stIndex of articles from nearly 13,000 journals, 1990-present.
- Business Source CompleteIndexes journals covering management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and more.
- Lexis-NexisProvides a variety of legal, reference, medical, and governmental resources.
- Newspaper SourceFull text for more than 40 U.S. and international newspapers and selective full text for almost 400 regional U.S. newspapers. Also television and radio news transcripts.
- Global Market Information DatabaseComprehensive resource for international market analysis; includes global research reports, statistics and consumer market size data.
- Hoover's Online DirectoryA corporate directory for more than 16 million public and private companies. Includes company profiles and financial data.
- Plunkett Research OnlineBusiness industry specific research portals covering trends, research, and profiles.
- Bizjournals.comThe Business Journals' sites features local business & industry news from 41 different markets around the nation.
- Forbes Magazine (Annual Report on American Industry in January issue)
- Wall Street JournalFull text, 1984-Present.
Industrial and Financial Ratios
Financial and operating ratios for about 160 industries are given in this almanac (also known as the Troy Almanac). Information is arranged by a 4-digit industry classification similar to the SIC code.
Financial Studies of the Small Business (Ref HD2346 U5 F55a)
Includes financial and operating ratios for about 50 lines of small businesses.
Quarterly Financial Report for Manufacturing, Mining, and Trade Corporations
RMA Annual Statement Studies (Ref HF5681 B2 R6 & Reserve Desk)
General References-Industry Overviews
Encyclopedia of Global Industries (Ref HD2324 E53) Chronicles the history, development and current status of 115 of the world's most lucrative and high-profile industries
Manufacturing USA (Ref HD9721 M364) Provides statistical data on the performance of 458 manufacturing industries
Manufacturing Worldwide (Ref HD9720.1 M33) Provides detailed statistics and comparative information on manufacturing activities worldwide
Market Share Reporter (Ref HF5415.2 M35) Gives market share data on companies, products, and services and is arranged by industry (SIC codes)
Service Industries USA (Ref HD 9981.3 S47) Provides statistics on 151 U.S. service industries
Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys (Ref HC106.6 S74) Provides basic data on 20 industries, with financial comparisons of the leading companies in each industry
Standard & Poor's Statistical Service (Ref HG4915 S68b) Contains sections on employment and production figures for major industries
Statistical Abstract of the United States (online) Prime source for U.S. industrial, social, political, and economic statistics (also available in print: Ref HA202 S83 - Reference Desk)
U.S. Industry Profiles USIP: The Leading 100 (Ref HD2771 U8) Covers the current status and predicted future for 100 U.S. industries
U.S. Industry and Trade Outlook (Gov Docs C61.48) Information on U.S. industries and how they affect the economy
Value Line Investment Survey (Ref HG4501 V26 & Reserves) Reports on close to 2,000 companies in about 95 industries on a rotating basis. Provides valuable statistics and forecasts on various industries
Internet Resources
- Current Industrial ReportsTimely data on the production, inventories, and orders for 4,400 products, which represent 30% of all manufacturing.
- Economic CensusThis census is taken every five years (in years ending with 2 and 7), and includes data from: construction industries, financial industries, manufacturers, mineral industries, retail trade, service industries, transportation, and wholesale trade.
- IndustryLink
Subject Guide |
Contact Info Anthony Kaiser Assistant Professor of Library Services Business Librarian Office: JCKL 2456 Phone: 660-543-8016 E-mail: akaiser@ucmo.edu Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |


Loading...
