Guides: Music: Getting Started

Find Articles on Music

Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Oxfors Music Onlione is an authoritative resource for music research with over 52,000 articles written by nearly 9,000 scholars charting the diverse history and cultures of music around the globe. Contains updated entries from the The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians (2nd ed), New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and New Grove Dictionary of Jazz (2nd ed). Limit of 8 concurrent users.
Music Index This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive guide to music periodicals and literature from over 800 journals featuring digitized content from 1970 to present.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new window
RILM, a comprehensive, ongoing guide to publications on music from all over the world that provides abstracts for over 1,500,000 records from scholarly journals, reports, and professional publications from 1800s - 2021. It.is an indispensable tool for scholars, students, librarians, performers, teachers, and music lovers. Full text may be requested through interlibrary loan.
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
Online access to audio recordings of thousands of classical music as well as selections from Jazz and World/Folk music. Almost three million tracks are available, and hundreds ofalbums are added each month. Naxos provides study guides, interactive dictionaries, and over 40,000 biographies are available on artists and composers.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides electronic access to back runs of scholarly journals, literary journals, academic monographs, research reports, and primary sources. Due to agreements with the publishers, JSTOR does not include current issues of journals; the most recently published issue of any current journal will not appear in JSTOR until 1-5 years after the publishing date.
Rock's Backpages This link opens in a new window
Rock's Backpages is the largest archive of music journalism online, featuring almost 50,000 articles on thousands of artists from Aaliyah to ZZ Top. The database works with hundreds of writers to archive their work for students and researchers.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database and a leading resource for scholarly research. Academic Search Complete includes full-text access to peer-reviewed journals in key areas of academic study, as well as indexing and abstracts for magazines, monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.
Music and Performing Arts Collection This link opens in a new window
The collection features scholarly and trade journals, magazines, books, newspapers, and reference works, covering a wide range of disciplines including dance, ballet, circus performance, popular music, puppetry, radio, stagecraft, theatre, classical music, and opera. It provides full text to approximately 220 titles, and access over 100 pereiodicals, trade journals, magazines, books, and newspapers.
Music Reference Collection This link opens in a new window
Music Reference Collection contains a variety of essential reference materials allowing users to chronicle the history of music of diverse origins and walks of life. The comprehensive collection of reference materials covers virtually every time period, genre, cultural group, and geographic region.
African American Music Reference chronicles the diverse history and culture of the African American experience through music. This full text collection also includes biographies and personal narratives from oral histories, manuscripts, song-sheets, lyrics, discography data, and other text sources cover jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrels, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression.
The Classical Music Reference Library includes the authoritative reference titles Baker's Dictionary of Music, Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians, and Baker's Student Encyclopedia of Music. This collection provides biographical information on major composers and artists, score and lyric excerpts, plus musical and notational terms.
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music includes the full-text of the ten-volume print encyclopedia (more than 9000 pages) that allows for in-text searching.
300+ associated audio examples. This collection also includes musical illustrations, photographs, and drawings.

Find Books & Ebooks on Music

Select Books & Ebooks on Music

Routledge Companion to Audiences and the Performing Arts by Matthew Reason (Editor); Lynne Conner (Editor); Katya Johanson (Editor); Ben Walmsley (Editor) The Routledge Companion to Audiences and the Performing Arts represents a truly multi-dimensional exploration of the inter-relationships between audiences and performance. This study considers audiences contextually and historically, through both qualitative and quantitative empirical research, and places them within appropriate philosophical and socio-cultural discourses. Ultimately, the collection marks the point where audiences have become central and essential not just to the act of performance itself but also to theatre, dance, opera, music and performance studies as academic disciplines. This Companion will be of great interest to academics, researchers and postgraduates, as well as to theatre, dance, opera and music practitioners and performing arts organisations and stakeholders involved in educational activities.
ISBN: 9781000537963
Publication Date: 2022-04-05
Sonic histories of occupation : by Jeremy E Taylor; Russell P Skelchy
ISBN: 1350228095
Publication Date: 2022
The popular and the sacred in music / by Antti-Ville Kärjä
ISBN: 1032025042
Publication Date: 2022

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary E-books collection. Can be viewed online and limited printing and downloading is available with the creation of a free account. Full downloading is also available with an Adobe account and Adobe Digital Editions software (freely available from Adobe). The database contains the Academic Complete collection with over 200,000 scholarly e-books.
eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary E-book collection. E-books can be viewed online. Limited downloading and printing is available with a free EBSCO account. Full downloading for offline reading is available with an Adobe account and Adobe Digital Editions (freely available from Adobe). Contains over 300,00 titles.