Skip to main content

Main Navigation Menu

Citation Indexes

Lists places where scholars can track the number of times their work has been cited.

Citation Indexes

Citations can be tracked through the following resources:

Scopus 

  • Includes journal articles in medicine, science, social sciences, and arts & humanities. 
  • Search for a particular work, then click the number under Cited by. Or, search for a particular author, select the correct author, and click the number under Cited by for each article. 

Google Scholar (freely available)

  • Includes multi-disciplinary journal articles, conference proceedings, and books. 
  • Search for a particular work, then click on Cited by (number)

CiteSeerX Beta (freely available)

  • Includes journal articles in computer and information science. 
  • Search for a particular work or author. Select the desired work, then click on the number following Citations. Also see Years of Citing Articles at the right-hand side of the page to see citations across time. 

EBSCOhost Databases (UCM subscription - information is current as of 7-18-2016)

The following EBSCOhost databases allow citation tracking.  Click on Cited References at top of page (sometimes found under More tab). Search for a particular author or work. Select works, then click Find Citing Articles

  • Academic Search Complete (multi-disciplinary)
  •  America: History & Life
  • Business Source Complete
  • Communication Source
  • EconLit with Full Text
  • Education Research Complete
  • Environment Complete
  • GreenFILE (environmental studies)
  • Historical Abstracts
  • Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts with Full Text
  • Music Index
  • PsycARTICLES
  • PsycINFO
  • Research Starters - Education
  • SPORTDiscus with Full Text
  • Violence & Abuse Abstracts

ScienceDirect (UCM subscribes to a limited number of journals; the index is free to use)

  • Includes journal articles in medicine, science, some social sciences, and some humanities. 
  • Search for a particular article, then click on Cited by in Scopus (number)

MathSciNet (UCM subcription)

  • Includes journal articles, conference proceedings, and books in mathematics. 
  • Use the Citations tab to search for a particular author. The search will result in a list of publications, ranked by number of citations. 
  • Or, use the Publications tab to search for a particular article and see how many times it has been cited. 

ACM Digital Library (UCM subscription - portal to access all ACM publications)

  • Includes journal articles and conference proceedings in computer science and information technology. 
  • Search for a particular author or work. For each work, number of citations and number of downloads is shown. Click on title of work, then click the Cited By tab.    

SciFinder (UCM subscription, first-time users must register)

  • Includes journal articles, conference proceedings, and books in chemistry and related sciences. 
  • Search for a particular topic or author. Select the desired topic/author, then click Get References. Select a particular title, then click Get Citing.

Controversies

Impact factors can be controversial and are viewed differently by different disciplines.  In 2013, an editorial in Science introduced the San Francisco Declaration on Research Assessment (DORA). These reports claim impact factors distort the evaluation of academic research and should not be used to evaluate individuals for hiring, promotion, or tenure decisions.  

Other researchers value social media tools and support the use of alt-metrics.