Skip to main content

Main Navigation Menu

Missouri Author Collection: Missouri Author Collection

Missouri Author Collection

 

 

Missouri Authors Book Collection

The Missouri Authors Book Collection is a collection of more than 800 books written by Missouri authors. Recently relocated to the University of Central Missouri, Central Chapter of the  Missouri Center for the Book, this special collection showcases the diversity of the state’s writers and represents works in many genres.  This is a non-circulating, examination only collection.

 

 

The Missouri Center for the Book was established in 1993 “to bring the words and ideas of books into the thoughts and lives of Missourians.” The Center is a statewide organization that promotes the importance of books and reading to Missouri residents, celebrates the state’s literary heritage, and recognizes the contributions of Missouri’s authors, book illustrators, booksellers, publishers, librarians, and others involved in the literary arts.  The Missouri Center is an affiliate of the national Center for the Book in the Library of Congress, which was established by law in 1977 to strengthen and celebrate the vital role of books, reading, and libraries in the cultural life of the nation.

The Center is governed by a board of directors composed of authors, publishers, librarians, editors, and community leaders. The board develops programs and plans activities that stimulate public interest in books and reading.

Missouri Author Collection Acceptance Policy

MISSOURI AUTHOR COLLECTION ACCEPTANCE POLICY

Works by Missouri authors, fiction and nonfiction, will be collected using the following criteria:

The Missouri Author Collection includes books published by writers born in Missouri, currently living in Missouri, or living in Missouri at the time of publication.  A book submitted for inclusion in the collection must be a physical book, either hardcover or paperback with an ISBN and a registered copyright.  All books shall be subject to review by the MCB Board or a subcommittee of the Board for a decision on acceptance.  Due to lack of space in the collection, only representative works for each author may be included.  When submitting the book, brief biographical information that shows how the author falls under one or more of these criteria must be included.

 Certain items may be ineligible for inclusion:

  • Article publications in journals or periodicals
  • Stories published in anthologies
  • Audio-visual or other non-print works
  • Electronic works not also produced and sold in print
  • Government documents
  • Technical or research publications without a direct link to a Missouri subject
  • Study guides and current textbooks without a direct link to a Missouri subject
  • Medical or procedural publications without a direct link to the health and welfare of Missourians
  • Religious tracts
  • Theses or dissertations from Missouri colleges or universities unless the subjecto related to Missouri history and culture
  • Books with no ISBN or registered copyright

   

The status of an individual as a Missouri author may be subject to change based on recommendations from the selectors or members of Missouri Center for the Book.  Works produced prior to, or after, an author’s residence in Missouri may not be acquired.

Missouri Author Collection Submission Form