It is vital for all professionals in the field of education to have a practical understanding of the laws that are in place to protect the children with whom they work. The Comprehensive Guide to Special Education Law is a detailed yet accessible introduction to federal law as it applies to the rights of children with special needs.Written in a user-friendly question and answer format, the book covers all of the key areas of special education law including parental rights of participation, the legal right to Free Appropriate Public Education (FAPE) and related services, and the complex issues of discipline and dispute resolutions. This book provides educators with knowledge of the requirements, history, and evolution of the laws that impact their daily working lives and gives them the information they need to help parents obtain better services for their children.This is an indispensible handbook that teachers, school management, and school counselors will refer to again and again.
CHOICE Outstanding Academic Title for 2009 "A welcome addition to any public or academic library, this set would also be of use in a law library where educational law might need to be explored and reviewed at a more basic level than other legal texts." --Sara Rofofsky Marcus, Queensborough Community Coll., Bayside, NY "Smaller educational legal summaries exist, and a couple of texts deal with Supreme Court cases about education, but this set provides a unique combination of general educational legal issues and case-specific information. It should be a welcome addition to academic and large public libraries. Also available as an ebook." -- Booklist The Encyclopedia of Education Law is a compendium of information drawn from the various dimensions of education law that tells its story from a variety of perspectives. The entries cover a number of essential topics, including the following: Key cases in education law, including both case summaries and topical overviews Constitutional issues Key concepts, theories, and legal principles Key statutes Treaties (e.g., the Universal Declaration on Human Rights) Curricular issues Educational equity Governance Rights of students and teachers Technology Biographies Organizations In addition to these broad categories, anchor essays by leading experts in education law provide more detailed examination of selected topics. The Encyclopedia also includes selections from key legal documents such as the Constitution and federal statutes that serve as the primary sources for research on education law. At the same time, since education law is a component in a much larger legal system, the Encyclopedia includes entries on the historical development of the law that impact on its subject matter. Such a broadened perspective places education law in its proper context in the U.S. legal system.
The Encyclopedia of Law and Higher Education is a compendium of information that tells the story of law and higher education from a variety of perspectives. As many of the entries in this encyclopedia reflect, the editor and contributors have sought to place legal issues in perspective so that students of higher education and the law can inform policy makers and practitioners about the meaning and status of the law and also raise questions for future research as they seek to improve the quality of learning for all. Key Features Includes boxed excerpts from 30 key cases in tandem with their related case entries Provides educators with enough awareness of the legal dimensions of given situations to enable them to better frame questions for their attorneys to answer Addresses emerging technologies such as webcams, Facebook, Twitter, and YouTube and the challenges they create for both legislators and the judiciary Balances the tension between the proactive and reactive dimensions of education law Key Themes Cases in Higher Education Law Concepts, Theories, and Legal Principles Constitutional Rights and Issues Faculty Rights Governance and Finance Organizations and Institutions Primary Sources: Excerpts From Landmark U.S. Supreme Court Cases Religion and Freedom of Speech Statutes Student Rights and Welfare Technology