Skip to main content

Main Navigation Menu

Geography

Map Resources

Map Collections

The Kirkpatrick Library houses several map collections. These include the USGS:

  • Topographic maps

  • Geological maps

  • Census maps

  • Defense Mapping Agency Maps (DMA)

  • National Imagery and Mapping Agency Maps (NIMA) 

  • CIA Maps

  • Missouri atlases and county Maps

  • Historic map collections

  • Geographic and thematic atlases

Below are descriptions of these collections along with links to online maps and cartographic resources on the Internet.

Strategies for Finding Maps in JCKL

  • General Maps--Use National Geographic Concise Atlas of the World, DK Atlas of the World, and the Oxford Atlas of the World (Reference Atlas Stands). Other atlases are located in Reference and the Circulating collections at G 1001 to G 3035

  • Subject Oriented Maps--Examples: earthquakes, women's issues, languages, agriculture, etc.

    • Search Quest using keywords. Example: earthquakes and maps
    • Most general atlases contain subject-specific maps

  • Maps of individual countries--CIA maps, located in Government Documents at PREX 3.10/4:

  • Sheet Maps--These include a series called variously "quadrangle," "topographic," or "7.5 minute" maps. We do not have complete coverage of the United States. These are organized alphabetically by the state, then by the quadrangle name. Use the green index booklets to locate the quadrangle name.

  • National Geographic Maps--These are generally thematic maps originally received with an issue of the National Geographic Magazine. They are organized by LC Call Number order and are filed in the map collection.

  • Defense Mapping Agency and Army Map Service Maps--They are arranged by the American Geographical Society classification system. Use the index (on the map cases). Most of these maps date from the 1940s to the 1960s and were created by the U.S. Department of Defense. Most of these maps cover areas in France, Germany, Japan, parts of Southeast Asia, and north Africa. These maps are currently located in storage and available to view by appointment.

Gazetteers

  • GEOnet Names Server The GEOnet Names Server (GNS) provides access to the National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency (NGA) database of foreign geographic feature names. Information in this database has been used to prepare and publish the series of foreign country gazetteers approved by the U.S. Board on Geographic Names (US BGN).
  • Thesaurus of Geographic Names The Getty Information Institute's database contains 900,000 places arranged in a hierarchical structure, representing all nations of the modern world

Maps and Cartography

  • Maps of Missouri Historical maps of Missouri, produced by the St. Louis Public Library
  • Centennia A computer graphic guide to the history of Europe and the Middle East from the year 1000 AD to the present. Includes dynamically evolving maps showing over 9,000 border changes and is accompanied with an online text.
  • Electronic Map Library Digital atlases created by Dr. William Bowen of the Department of Geography, California State University, Northridge.
  • Historical Maps Database of digitized historical maps, produced by the University of Georgia Libraries
  • Historic Cities A joint project of the Historic Cities Center of the Department of Geography, the Hebrew University of Jerusalem and the Jewish National and University Library.
  • Maps and References A huge list of links, including online maps, atlases, glossaries and much more, provided by University of Iowa's Center for Global & Regional Environmental Research.
  • Ryhiner Map Collection, project of the University Library of Berne, includes the catalog and a digital archive of some of its 16th-18th century maps.
  • USGS Map Information includes information on map products, aerial photography, geospatial data, and educational resources.

Internet Resources for Aerial Photography/Remote Sensing