Skip to main content

Main Navigation Menu

Psychology

Resources for Psychology students and faculty

Education

Census Bureau Education Statistics
Includes Current Population Surveys for educational attainment (highest level of school completed or the highest degree received) and field of training (highest degree received, field of training, and economic status).

National Center for Education Statistics

U.S. Statistical Information

General Resources

American Factfinder
Interactive, searchable database on the Internet that is used to find population, housing, industry and business statistics from the U.S. Census. Data collected in Census 2000, the 1990 Census of Population and Housing, the American Community Survey and the 1997 Economic Census. American Factfinder allows the user to compile census data into tables, maps and downloadable files, which can be viewed or printed.

County and City Data Book
Collection of statistics on social and economic conditions in the United States at the county and city level.

FEDSTATS - Federal Interagency Council on Statistical Policy
Gateway to statistics from over 100 U.S. Federal agencies. Includes direct links to statistical data by topic.

Selected Historical Statistics
Includes numerous tables such as Immigration - Number and Rate: 1900 to 2001, Employment Status of the Civilian Population: 1929 to 2002, Marital Status of the Population by Sex, Marital Status of Women in the Civilian Labor Force and World Population by Region.

MapStats: United States
Statistical profiles by State, county, city, congressional district, or Federal judicial district.

NationMaster.com
Massive data source that can generate maps, graphs and statistics by country.

State and Metropolitan Area Data Book
Collection of statistics on social and economic conditions in the United States at the State and metropolitan area levels.

Statistical Abstract of the United States (1878 to present)
National Data Book containing a collection of statistics on social and economic conditions in the United States as well as selected international data. (Historical data is added as completed).

Business and Economics

Agricultural Statistics (1995 to present): Annual data book on agricultural production, supplies, consumption, facilities, costs, and returns.

Bureau of Economic Analysis

Bureau of Labor Statistics

Census Bureau Economic Programs Current Industrial Reports

Economic Briefing Rooms

Economic Indicators.gov
Economics and Statistics Administration's releases of key economic indicators.

Economic Indicators (1995 to present)

Economic Report of the President (1996 to present)

Economic Surveys

Federal Reserve System

Foreign Trade Statistics
includes statistics by country, state and product.

Regional Economic Conditions (RECON)
Use drop down menus to any state, MSA, or county to view standard graphs, tables, and maps depicting economic conditions and observe how they have changed over time.

Crime

Bureau of Justice Statistics

Campus Security Statistics

Federal Bureau of Investigation

National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD)
Preserves and distributes computerized crime and justice data from Federal agencies, state agencies, and investigator initiated research projects to users for secondary statistical analysis.

National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS)
One of the largest criminal and juvenile justice libraries and databases in the world, the NCJRS Abstracts Database. The collection, with holdings from the early 1970s to the present, contains more than 180,000 publications, reports, articles, and audiovisual products from the United States and around the world. These resources include statistics, research findings, program descriptions, congressional hearing transcripts, and training materials.

Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics
Updates of tables and new data sources continually are received and prepared for presentation in the print edition.

Environment

Environmental Protection Agency

Online Climate Data and Weather Observations

Threatened and Endangered Species Database System

Health

DataFinder
Locate health and human services related data and statistics resources supported by the Department of Health and Human Services, other federal agencies, states, and local governments.

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

Healthfinder Statistics

MEDLINEplus: Health Statistics

National Center for Health Statistics

Health Data Tools and Statistics
Links to health statistics and data sets as well as resources to support data collection.

Labor

Bureau of Labor Statistics

Occupational Safety & Health Administration

Quarterly Workforce Indicators
QWI measure the performance of the local economy includes Total Employment, Net Job Flows, New Hires, Job Creation, Turnover, and Avg Monthly Earnings. Breakdown by state, county, and Metro Area. Breakdowns can also be made by detailed industry.

Unemployment Weekly Claims
From the Department of Labor Employment and Training Administration

Population and Geography

AgingStats.Gov
Federal Interagency Forum on Aging-Related Statistics

American Community Survey
Provides estimates of demographic, housing, social, and economic characteristics every year for all states, as well as for all cities, counties, metropolitan areas, and population groups of 65,000 people or more.

Census Bureau

CensusScope
Easy-to-use tool for investigating demographic trends at the state, county, and metropolitan level. It provides summary statistics, charts, and maps.

County and City Data Book

Green Book: Background Material and Data on Programs within the Jurisdiction of the Committee on Ways and Means (1996 to present)
Program descriptions and historical data on a wide variety of social and economic topics, including Social Security,employment, earnings, welfare, child support, health insurance, the elderly, families with children, poverty and taxation.


Your Librarian

Scott Norwood's picture
Scott Norwood
Contact:
2450 JCKL

office phone (660) 543-4149