Skip to main content

Main Navigation Menu

Education Research Tutorial: Books & ERIC Documents

Step-by-step guide to conducting research in education

ERIC Documents

Searching the ERIC database allows you to retrieve both journal article citations and citations for ERIC documents. This unique content of the ERIC documents is invaluable to researchers and makes ERIC a critical resource. ERIC documents generally are not published in journals and include resources such as research reports, papers presented at conferences, and other education-related materials of use to researchers.  The majority of ERIC documents from the last 15 years are available in their entirety in the ERIC database. 

You may choose to search for both ERIC documents (ED's) and journal articles (EJ's) or to restrict your search to only ERIC documents or journal articles.

Find ERIC in the library’s list of education databases.  You may choose the Ebsco version of ERIC or the ERIC database that is freely available from the U.S. Department of Education.  The primary advantages of the Ebsco version are that it allows you to link to articles in other library databases and it facilitates requesting items using JCKL ILL.

Using Quest and Central Search

To Find Books, DVD's, and other Materials

Use Quest to find books and other materials in Kirkpatrick Library.  Quest will help you find books, videos, DVD's, journals, and other items in Kirkpatrick Library.  You can also search for materials in the other 3 libraries in the Quest cluster.  Quest does NOT include article citations.

To Find Books, E-Books, and Articles

Use Central Search to find books, e-books, AND articles.  Central Search allows you to use one search box to search across most of the library's collections, including Quest, the online catalog, and the majority of the library's subscription databases.

Central Search includes a Basic Search and an Advanced Search mode.

MOBIUS: Books in Missouri's Academic Libraries

MOBIUS is the consortium of Missouri's college and university libraries.  All MOBIUS libraries use a common platform, meaning that you can easily search their catalogs. 

If you can't find a book in Quest, check MOBIUS.  You'll need to supply your name, your 700 number, and your campus code (UCM).  Available materials will be delivered to the library you designate--either UCM's or a MOBIUS library more convenient for you.

Remember:  Like Quest, MOBIUS won't help you find journal articles.  Remember to check the library's A-Z database list to search for articles.

If you need materials not available in MOBIUS libraries, you may request them using JCKL ILL.

Requesting Books Outside of Missouri

If you need a book that's not available in Quest or MOBIUS, request it using JCKL ILL.  JCKL ILL allows you to fill in a blank form, describing the item you want.  It's much more convenient, however, to use a database. 

WorldCat is a database that describes books and other materials available in libraries around the world.  Use WorldCat to find a record for the book you want; then click on "JCKL ILL - Interlibrary Loan" to generate an ILL request for the item.

Your Librarian

Alice Ruleman's picture
Alice Ruleman
Contact:
Chair, Library Services
Associate Professor of Library Services
Liaison - College of Education
JCK Library
University of Central Missouri
Warrensburg, MO 64093
JCKL Rm 2452
Social:Twitter Page