Skip to main content

Main Navigation Menu

Reference Resources: Maps

List of links to a variety of websites.

Maps

Atlapedia : provides information on countries, including physical and political maps

Civil War Maps : at the Library of Congress.

Columbia Gazetteer of the World : alphabetical listing of places or physical/culturan features

Gazetter of Planetary Nomenclature : provides a contemporary searchable database of names used in our planetary sytem. Also provides an extensive bibliography plus a list of references cited in making the database.

Geographic Names Information System : from the U.S. Geological Survey, database of nearly 2 million geographic features in the United States

Mapquest : find detailed maps for thousands of U.S. and international cities

National Geographic Map Machine : contains dynamic maps, atlas maps, flags and facts, and GIS training and data.

Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection : over 2,000 current and historical maps from around the world.  Collection from the University of Texas at Austin Library

Sky Maps : provides a variety of sky maps and astronomy information

U S Cities & States Gazetteer : profiles 179,000 cities, towns, etc.

Yahoo! Maps & Driving Directions : create a map for a specific address, or get driving directions from a starting address to a destination address

Your Sky : interactive planetarium of the Web

 

16 August 2014

Your Librarian

Jerry R. Brown's picture
Jerry R. Brown
Contact:
Associate Professor and Librarian

James C. Kirkpatrick Library 2458

University of Central Missouri

Warrensburg, MO 64093

660.543.8838