Skip to main content

Main Navigation Menu

Field Biology

Other Databases

Your library does not subscribe to the databases in this box, however, you may find them useful.

They will often prompt you to purchase the full text articles from an outside source when you find an article you like. You can use JCKL ILL to acquire these articles for no charge. Because these databases are not subscription databases, the JCKL ILL request form fields will not automatically populate. You will need to either key in or copy and paste the required information into each field.

Handy tip: When you use one of the library subscription databases, the JCKL ILL request form will automatically be filled out and all you need to do is click the "submit" button.

AGRICOLA :: An index to journal articles and a catalog of the book collections held at the National Agricultural Library. The records cover all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming, agriculture economics, food and human nutrition, and earth/environmental sciences. This is an index only and has no full text.

Catalog of U.S. Government Publications :: "the finding tool for electronic and print publications from the legislative, executive, and judicial branches of the U.S. government. These publications make up the National Bibliography of U.S. Government Publications. The CGP contains descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online."  A really good source to locate government reports. For publications not available in full text, check to see if they are available through Quest and MOBIUS.

Google Scholar :: Check the "Biology, Life Sciences, and Environmental Sciences" box to limit retrieval to these disciplines.

National Center for Biotechnology Information :: Established in 1988 as a national resource for molecular biology information, NCBI creates public databases, conducts research in computational biology, develops software tools for analyzing genome data, and disseminates biomedical information - all for the better understanding of molecular processes affecting human health and disease.

PubMed :: The Medline database which contains records from the 1950s.  There is no automatic link to JCKL ILL from this U.S. National Library of Medicine site. Records from 1997 to the present and linked to JCKL ILL are available through the CSA Medline database here.

Scirus :: A comprehensive science-specific search engine from Elsevier. Scirus searches over 450 million science web pages.