Skip to main content

Main Navigation Menu

Government Information

Tips and links to government resources in a variety of subjects

Congressional Resources

Who are my Legislators? Search by Zip Code for your Senators and Representatives in the Missouri General Assembly and U.S. Congress.

Guide to Congressional Sessions Guide listing beginning and ending dates for each session of Congress, produced by the University of Indiana libraries

Congressional Bills Full text of bills back to the 103rd (1993-1994) Congress. Produced by GPO.

History of Bills The History of Bills lists legislative actions on bills that are reported in the Congressional Record, information available back to 1983.

Conference Reports Compromises on legislation negotiated between House and Senate committees. Current Congress only. Produced by GPO

Congressional Debates, journals, and more--Historical Congressional Debates, 1774-1875

Congressional Directory Directory of members of Congress, dating back to 1997.

Congressional Hearings Contains the full text of both House and Senate hearing, dating back to 1985. Produced by GPO

Congressional Pictorial Directory

Congressional Record The official record of the proceedings of the Congress back to 1994. 

Congressional Record, Bound Edition Web version of the print edition. 1999-2007.

Congressional Record Index Index of CR, 1983-present.

Congress.gov Federal legislative information: bills, committee reports, the Congressional Record, and more.

Public and Private Laws Full text of public and private laws back to the 104th (1995-1996) Congress. Produced by GPO.

Statutes at Large The United States Statutes at Large, is the permanent collection of all laws and resolutions enacted during each session of Congress. Produced by GPO. Covers 1951-2011.

Historical Statues at Large Digitized Statutes at Large volumes, 1789-2015.

United States Code The United States Code is the codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States. Coverage is 1994-2015. Produced by GPO.

House of Representatives Committees

House Journal, 2000-2014. The Journal--and not the Congressional Record--is the official record of the proceedings of the House (4 Hinds Sec. 2727; Manual Sec. 582), and certified copies thereof are admissible in judicial proceedings (28 USC Sec. 1736).

The Center For Responsive Politics is an nonpartisan organization that provides access to a variety of resources, including the Registered Federal Lobbyist Database . The CPR downloads this database from the computer located in the House Legislative Resource Center (Room B-106 of the Cannon House Office Building), then loads it on their Web server.

Senate Proceedings

LLSDC's Legislative Source Book Links to sources of Congressional information.

Congressional Research Service Reports Reports made by Congressional staff on Congress on its procedures.

Congressional Calendars Calendars for the House and Senate from 1995 to the present.

Green Book The House Ways and Means Committee Green Book provides program descriptions and historical data on a wide variety of social and economic topics. Published 1994-present.

Plum Book Is used to identify presidentially appointed positions within the Federal Government, 1996-Present.

House Practice Information on the rules and precedents of House procedure, 104th, 108th, 112th, and 115th Congress.

Senate Manual Rules and regulations governing Senate procedure, 1995-present

Vital Statistics on Congress

Vital Statistics on Congress

Comprehensive source of information on Congress. Includes demographics, campaign finance, elections, committee information, etc.