Skip to main content

Main Navigation Menu

Government Information

Tips and links to government resources in a variety of subjects

Map Resources

Map Collections

The Kirkpatrick Library houses several map collections. These include:

  • USGS Topographic maps

  • Geological maps

  • Census maps

  • Defense Mapping Agency Maps (DMA)

  • National Imagery and Mapping Agency Maps (NIMA) 

  • CIA Maps

  • Missouri atlases and county Maps

  • Historic map collections

  • Geographic and thematic atlases

Below are descriptions of these collections along with links to online maps and cartographic resources on the Internet.

Strategies for Finding Maps in JCKL

General Maps--Use National Geographic Concise Atlas of the World, DK Atlas of the World, and the Oxford Atlas of the World (Reference Atlas Stands). Other atlases are located in Reference and the Circulating collections at G 1001 to G 3035

Subject Oriented Maps--Examples: earthquakes, women's issues, languages, agriculture, etc.

Search Quest using keywords. Example: earthquakes and maps

Most general atlases contain subject-specific maps

Maps of individual countries--CIA maps, located in Government Documents at PREX 3.10/4:

Sheet Maps--These include a series called variously "quadrangle," "topographic," or "7.5 minute" maps. We do not have complete coverage of the United States. These are organized alphabetically by the state, then by the quadrangle name. Use the green index booklets to locate the quadrangle name.

National Geographic Maps--These are generally thematic maps originally received with an issue of the National Geographic Magazine. They are filed in the map collection by geographic area or theme. 

Defense Mapping Agency and Army Map Service Maps--They are arranged by the American Geographical Society classification system. Use the index (on the map cases). Most of these maps date from the 1940s to the 1960s and were created by the U.S. Department of Defense. Most of these maps cover areas in France, Germany, Japan, parts of Southeast Asia, and north Africa.

Gazetteers

Maps and Cartography

Canadian Geographical Names Database Provides a searchable database for Canadian geographic names.

Columbia Gazetteer Online A database of names, descriptions, and characteristics of over 165,000 places in the world

Gazetteer of Australia searches over 210,000 geographic names of Australia and locates places on maps. Data provided by the Committee for Geographic Names in Australia.

GEOnet Names Server The GEOnet Names Server (GNS) provides access to the National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency (NGA) database of foreign geographic feature names. Information in this database has been used to prepare and publish the series of foreign country gazetteers approved by the U.S. Board on Geographic Names (US BGN).

GNIS Online Data Base Query Form of the Geographic Names Information System (GNIS), developed by the USGS in cooperation with the U.S. Board on Geographic Names (BGN), contains searchable information for almost 2 million physical and cultural geographic features in the United States.

Great Britain place names found on the Ordnance Survey's Landranger maps

The JewishGen ShtetlSeeker can search the towns in Central and Eastern Europe or list all of the towns within a certain distance of given latitude/longitude coordinates.

Place Name Servers on the Internet A listing from Arizona State University

Thesaurus of Geographic Names The Getty Information Institute's database contains 900,000 places arranged in a hierarchical structure, representing all nations of the modern world

Alexandria Digital Library for spatially-indexed information at the University of California, Santa Barbara.

Maps of Missouri Historical maps of Missouri, produced by the St. Louis Public Library

Centennia A computer graphic guide to the history of Europe and the Middle East from the year 1000 AD to the present. Includes dynamically evolving maps showing over 9,000 border changes and is accompanied with an online text.

Checklist of Online Vegetation and Plant Distribution Maps Produced by UC Berkeley Libraries

Electronic Map Library Digital atlases created by Dr. William Bowen of the Department of Geography, California State University, Northridge.

Historical Maps Database of digitized historical maps, produced by the University of Georgia Libraries

Perry-Castenada Library Map Collection Wide variety of current and historical maps of the United States, World, and Country maps. Produced by the University of Texas.

Historic Atlas and Map Valuation and Conservation A list of Web resources, provided by Stanford University, for appraising antiquarian maps and atlases.

Historic Cities A joint project of the Historic Cities Center of the Department of Geography, the Hebrew University of Jerusalem and the Jewish National and University Library.

Historical Atlas of Canada Produced by the University of Toronto

History of Cartography from the University of Wisconsin, Madison.

Map Collections: 1544-1999 The Library of Congress' online maps, including:

Map History / History of Cartography - THE Gateway to the Subject

Maps and References A huge list of links, including online maps, atlases, glossaries and much more, provided by University of Iowa's Center for Global & Regional Environmental Research.

Le Monde Diplomatique Map Collection: a political look at territory provides many online thematic maps from around the world, and their Middle East maps focus on issues of the Near East and northern Africa

National Atlas of Canada

National Geologic Map Database A searchable index of USGS and state geological survey geologic maps.

National Resources Canada: Maps

Periodical Historical Atlas of Europe from 001 AD to 1700

Peter Dana's Overviews of Global Positioning System (GPS), Geodetic Datum, Coordinate Systems, and Map Projections

Ryhiner Map Collection, project of the University Library of Berne, includes the catalog and a digital archive of some of its 16th-18th century maps.

Soil Survey Manuscripts An online collection of maps providing access to Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS) soil survey information.

United States State Coordinates coordinates of each state's boundaries 

University of Waterloo cartographic information

USGS Map Information includes information on map products, aerial photography, geospatial data, and educational resources..

ZIP Code Geography and Mapping from UC Santa Barbara.

Citing Maps and Atlases from North Carolina State University Libraries

Internet Resources for Aerial Photography/Remote Sensing

Earth Resources Observation and Science (EROS) Data Center

National Aerial Photography Program (NAPP) Produced by USGS

U.S. Geological Survey Aerial Photography

JPL Imaging Radar Home Page Produced by NASA's Jet Propulsion Laboratory

USGS Landsat Project

Advanced Very High Resolution Radiometer (AVHRR)

Digital Orthophotographic Quadrangles

Your Librarian

Mark Love's picture
Mark Love
Contact:
JCKL 2448
660-543-8515