Skip to main content

Main Navigation Menu

Government Information

Tips and links to government resources in a variety of subjects

Finding and Citing Government Publications

How to use the Online Catalog

To find government documents in the James C. Kirkpatrick Library, the first and best tool is the online catalog, Quest. Search by title, author, subject, keyword, or SuDoc call number. You may also find government documents by using the library's search engine, Central Search:

 

The online catalog contains records for most of the Missouri documents collection and for Federal documents received since late 1995 as well as significant titles previous to 1995. Remember to watch for notes in the LOCATION field next to the call number concerning whether the document is located is on the Internet, in the main Government Documents collection, in the map collection, or in the Government Documents microfiche or CD-ROM collections. Catalog records for electronic documents contain a link to the document that is located in the SuDoc number field or above the SuDoc number. 

Other Search Tools for Federal Documents

 
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications The CGP is the finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online. Users can search by authoring agency, title, subject, and general key word, or click on "Advanced Search" for more options.
 
MetaLib Federated search engine that searches across multiple federal databases.
 
FDsys Provides access to many important and highly popular government publications, including the Code of Federal Regulations, Congressional Bills, Public and Private Laws, and the Federal Register.
 
Congress.gov Federal legislative information: bills, committee reports, the Congressional Record, and more.
 
Cumulative Title and Subject Index These two sets are located behind the Reference Desk. They provide very brief descriptive information and SuDoc numbers for federal documents. Great for locating historical documents.

Government Information by Topic Links to Federal government information organized by topic, from USA.gov.

Search Strategies --This web page describes various search strategies useful for finding government information

Federal Agency Directory Directory of Federal Agency Web Sites, produced by LSU gov docs.

Citing Government Publications

Citing Government Documents Links to web resources on citing government publications, produced by Columbia University

It's hard enough figuring out how to cite normal publications using APA, MLA, Chicago Style Manual, etc. without the added intricacies of government agency authors, report numbers, and Internet addresses. Below is a list of Internet resources that might be of assistance. Some are designed to answer questions about citing government documents, others for citing electronic publications, and others for citing anything at all.

APA

  • Citing Gov Docs with APA Produced by Washington and Lee University

  • Citing Gov Docs with APA Produced by George Washington University

  • DocsCite Provides step by step help in citing government documents according to APA or MLA style. Produced by Arizona State University Libraries.

Chicago/Turabian

MLA

  • DocsCite Provides step by step help in citing government documents according to APA or MLA style. Produced by Arizona State University Libraries. 

Your Librarian

Mark Love's picture
Mark Love
Contact:
JCKL 2448
660-543-8515