Africana Studies

America: History and Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. This database includes indexing for almost 1,700 journals from as far back as 1910.

Black Studies Center is a tool that supports research, teaching, and learning in Black Studies and other disciplines that benefit from a more detailed coverage of the black experience such as history, literature, political science, sociology, philosophy, and religion.

Black Thought and Culture is an electronic collection of approximately 100,000 pages of non-fiction writings by major American black leaders—teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, war veterans, entertainers, and other figures—covering 250 years of history. In addition to the most familiar works, Black Thought and Culture presents a great deal of previously inaccessible material, including letters, speeches, prefatory essays, political leaflets, interviews, periodicals, and trial transcripts. The ideas of over 1,000 authors present an evolving and complex view of what it is to be black in America.

This an eBook collection counterpart to the Diversity and Ethnic Studies database. This is a dedicated resource covering the culture, traditions, social treatment and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America: African Americans, Arab Americans, Asian Americans, European, Americans, Jewish Americans, Latinx Americans, Native Americans, Multiracial Americans. Provides full text from a growing list of e-books.

This full-text database is a dedicated resource covering the culture, traditions, social treatment and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America. It provides full text from a growing list of sources including peer-reviewed journals, magazines, e-books, biographies and primary source documents.

Provides electronic access to back runs of scholarly journals, literary journals, academic monographs, research reports, and primary sources. Due to agreements with the publishers, JSTOR does not include current issues of journals; the most recently published issue of any current journal will not appear in JSTOR until 1-5 years after the publishing date.

Social Explorer provides easy access to demographic information about the United States. Thousands of interactive data maps going back to 1790 can be used to analyze and visualize the characteristics of almost any location. Whether you are interested in markets, voting, poverty, aging populations, ethnicity and race, spending patterns, health indicators, crime, environment or education, the easy to use tools will facilitate your analyses, viewing of trends, and comparisons over time.

The Oxford African American Studies Center provides students, scholars and librarians with more than 20,000 articles by top scholars in the fields of African American Studies and African and Diaspora Studies. It provides access to over 2,500 images, more than 700 primary sources with specially written commentary and almostr 200 maps. The core content is taken from several academic reference books. Articles, primary sources, images and multimedia, maps, and data can be searched or browsed. There is a five concurrent user limit on this database.

The Slavery in America and World: History Culture and Law collection on HeinOnline brings together all essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery. All of this information is combined with periodicals, scholarly articles and other documents, related books, a bibliography tab, and informative external links.