Location
Browsing the stacks for music materials
M: music scores
ML: music literature, including music dictionaries, bibliographies, and biographies.
ML410: books about composers; shelved alphabetically
by composer’s last name
ML420: books about performers, shelved
alphabetically by performer’s last name
MT: music
education materials, analyses, methods
Locations
- Circulating
scores: 3rd floor stacks
- Circulating books: 3rd floor stacks
- Reference books: 2nd floor, Reference Collection
- Language dictionaries and style manuals: 2nd floor, Reference Collection
- Scores (including complete or critical editions): 3rd floor stacks
- Bound periodicals: 2nd floor stacks
- Unbound periodicals: 2nd floor stacks
- DVDs: browse at the Lock-a-Shelf towers by the Circulation Desk
- DVD & VCR viewing stations & Playback equipment: 1st floor Media-Preview Rooms
- Microforms: 2nd floor
- Microform reader/printer: 2nd floor
- New books: 1st floor
Music resources through JCKL
Welcome!
The library at UCM provides access to many useful resources in the building, through the internet, and through "checking out" material from other libraries through Interlibrary Loan. There are several online resources, but relevant information is still in print, and even through google.
Quick Links: Top 5 on-line sources |
Many library questions are a click away!
|
Oxford
Music OnLine:
[OnLine Recourse] Provides access to the full text of the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, second edition (2001); The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (1992); and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz (2002) as well as additional sound files, images and updated articles.
JSTOR
[OnLine] Scholarly journal articles in music, the humanities, social sciences, business, ecology, and general science
Naxos Music Library
[Online] Online access to audio recordings of thousands of classical music as well as selections from Jazz and World/Folk music.
Discover library content with Central Search
Additional Bibliographies
General Music Resources
Classical Music
Jazz
Opera/Music Theater
American Music
Popular Song
World Music
Indexes
General Music Resources
Oxford
Music OnLine:
[OnLine Resourse] Provides access to the full text of the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, second edition (2001); The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (1992); and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz (2002) as well as additional sound files, images and updated articles.
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and
Musicians. 2nd ed.
[Reference ML100 N48 2001; 29 vols.] Provides detailed entries for musical terms, historical periods, genre, and composers' biographies. Most entries include a bibliography, and a list of works usually follows a composer's entry.
Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart:
allgemeine Enzyklopädie der Musik. 2., neubearbeitete Ausg.
[Reference ML 100 M92 1994; 25 vols.]Provides detailed entries for biographical entries in the fifteen volumes of the second series [Personenteil T2], and for musical terms, historical periods, genres and analytical treatments in the ten volumes of the first series [Sachteil T1]
The New Grove Dictionary of Musical
Instruments
[Reference ML 102 I5 N48 1984] Provides detailed entries for musical instruments from around the world. Contains historical information as well as descriptions of the range and technical limitations of each instrument. A bibliography usually follows the entry.
The New Harvard Dictionary of Music
[Reference ML 100 N485 1986] Provides a brief entry for many musical terms, some instruments, and historical terms. Alphabetically arranged, it occasionally provides a bibliography at the end of an entry.
The Guinness Encyclopedia of Popular Music
[Reference ML 102 P66 G84 2006; 10 vols / 1998 8 vols / 1995; 6 vols.] Provides detailed entries for musical terms, performers, bands, broadway shows, pop music magazines, instruments and manufacturers as well as the various genre of popular music. A bibliography usually follows individual entries.
Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians
[Reference ML 105 B16 19XX] Provides brief entries of musical performers and composers. Each edition differs slightly in content, so it is important to check earlier editions.
Baker's Biographical Dictionary of
Twentieth-Century Musicians
[Reference ML 105 S612 1997] Provides brief entries of musical performers and composers active in the last century. Each edition differs slightly in content, so it is important to check earlier editions [Above].
International who’s who in Music and Musicians’
Directory.
[Reference ML 106 G7 W4 1885] Provides brief entries of musical performers and composers. Each edition differs slightly in content, so it is important to check earlier editions. Library has 1980 and 1977 editions in the 3rd floor stacks.
Return to Top
Classical Music
Oxford
Music OnLine:
[OnLine Resourse] Provides access to the full text of the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, second edition (2001); The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (1992); and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz (2002) as well as additional sound files, images and updated articles.
New Grove Dictionary of American Music
[Reference ML 101 U6 1986] Provides detailed entries for musical movements, genre, and composers primarily residing in or having careers (:entered in America. Many entries duplicate information in the complete The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians.
Index to Biographies of Contemporary Composers
[Reference ML 105 B9 V.1-2] Provides an index to literature written on composers of contemporary music.
Contemporary American Composers
[Reference ML 390 A54 1982] A biographical dictionary providing brief entries for composers born no earlier than 1870, and whose citizenship was American or who had extended periods of residence in the United States. A works list is included, and home addresses are often provided.
Return to Top
Jazz
Oxford
Music OnLine:
[OnLine Resourse] Provides access to the full text of the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, second edition (2001); The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (1992); and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz (2002) as well as additional sound files, images and updated articles.
The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz
[Reference ML 102 J3 N48 2001; 2 vols.] Provides more detailed coverage of Jazz than that afforded by The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians. Entries for terms, personalities, bands and genre are provided, with a bibliography following. A works list or discography may follow the entry.
The Guinness Encyclopedia of Popular Music
[Reference ML 102 P66 G84 2006; 10 vols / 1998 8 vols / 1995; 6 vols.] Provides detailed entries for musical terms, performers, bands, broadway shows, pop music magazines, instruments and manufacturers as well as the various genre of popular music. A bibliography usually follows individual entries.
Jazz: The Essential Companion
[Reference ML 102 J3 C32 1988] A Provides brief entries for terms, personalities, bands and genre. A bibliography usually follows the entry.
The Encyclopedia of Jazz
[Reference ML 3561 J3 E55 l960] Provides brief encyclopedic entries for jazz musicians active from 1900 to 1960. A bibliography is provided, and longer articles discussing a historical survey of jazz, an anatomy of jazz, jazz in American society, overseas, and the differences between jazz and classical music can be found at the beginning and end of the volume.
Return to Top
Opera/Music Theater
Oxford Music OnLine:
[OnLine Resourse] Provides access to the full text of the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, second edition (2001); The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (1992); and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz (2002) as well as additional sound files, images and updated articles.
The New Grove Dictionary of Opera
[Reference ML 102 06 N4 1992; 4 vols.] Provides entries for composers, operas, singers of opera as well as overviews of national traditions and chronological periods. Written 12 years after The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, it provides the latest scholarship in the area.
International Dictionary of Opera
[Reference ML 102 06 I5 1993] Provides a brief entry for composers, singers and operas. Each entry is followed by works composed or sung, and a bibliography of works authored by the composer as well as works written about that individual is generally included.
Annals of Opera
[Reference ML 102 06 I3 1955] Provides a chronological listing of significant operas by the date of their premieres, covering the years 1597-1940.
The Definitive Kobbe's Opera Book
[Reference MT 95 K52 1987] Provides detailed discussion of the plot of most of the operas in the standard repertory. Brief excerpts from aria melodies and historical information on the premiere are included.
The Oxford
Dictionary of Opera
[Reference ML 102 06 W37 1992] Provides entries dealing with musical terms used in opera as well as the people who write, sing and stage these works.
Dictionary Catalogue of Operas & Operettas
[Reference ML 102 OO T8 1967] Provides a convenient resource for verifying title and composer information of these works. The first volume provides an fairly comprehensive alphabetic list of opera & operetta titles; including the nationality, name and dates of the composers who wrote them. The second volume provides an index of the works arranged alphabetically by composer, and a second index of libretti that includes the number of times a particular text was set to music.
Dictionary of Opera and Operetta
[Reference ML 102 06 A54 1989] Provides an alphabetic index to composers, operas and musical terms. It supplements many such dictionaries by focusing on contemporary works, composers and singers.
Who's Who in Opera [1975]
[Reference ML 102 06 W5] Provides brief entries of current singers and conductors that include notable roles and opera companies with which these individuals were associated. Composers and operas are not represented in this work.
A Chronology of American Musical Theater
[Reference ML 1711.8 N3 N67 2002; 3 vols.] Provides a chronological listing of works performed on “first-class” New York stages from 1850 to the present. Each entry provides a brief synopsis, list of characters and outline..
The Encyclopedia of The Musical Theatre
[Reference ML 102 M88 G3 1994; 2 vols.] Provides information on composers, works, singers and lyricists associated with Musical Theater in America. Entries for composers or authors are followed by a list of their works.
Return to Top
American Music
A Chronology of American Music 1700-1995
[Reference ML 200 H15 1996] Provides chronologically arranged information associated with all aspects of American music; including brief entries on people, publications, performing groups, and compositions. Each year begins with general historical and cultural information, and both classical and popular music is included.
A Dictionary of American Composers
[Reference ML 106 U3 B87 1984.] Provides alphabetically arranged information on composers, and a representative list of their compositions..
Resources of American Music History
[Reference ML 120 U5 R47] Provides information on archival resources containing American music. Organized by state, the detailed descriptive bibliography cover a wide range of resources, from sketches and autographs to letters and legal docments.
The Literature of American Music in Books and
Folk Music Collections: A Fully Annotated Bibliography
[Reference ML 120 U5 H7.] Divided into sections by genre, musical life, and chronological periods, annotated entries deal with published materials and archival resources. Of special note are sections dealing with Native American music, Jazz, popular music, Blues and African American music. Additional material is published in an 1988 supplement.
The Literature of American Music, III
[Reference ML 106 U5 M135 1996.] Continues the bibliography cited above, including monographs in English appearing between 1983 and 1993. Does not include Master’s treatises or dissertations, and selectively includes price guides, music career guides and picture books.
Return to Top
Popular Song
The Guinness Encyclopedia of Popular Music
[Reference ML 102 P66 G84 2006; 10 vols / 1998 8 vols / 1995; 6 vols.] Provides detailed entries for musical terms, performers, bands, broadway shows, pop music magazines, instruments and manufacturers as well as the various genre of popular music. A bibliography usually follows individual entries.
Popular Music [currently in 17 vols]
[Reference ML 120 U5 S51 19XX] Provides an alphabetic listing of the title, author & composer, country of origin, publisher and copyright dale Of popular songs. Annotations Of the song's origin or performance history are usually found after the entry.
The complete Encyclopedia of Popular Music and
Jazz 1900-1950
[Reference ML 102 P66 K55 4 vols.] Vol 1 provides a list of popular music by year, divided into the categories of Broadway Musicals, Popular Songs, Representative Recordings, and Jazz. Vol. II and III provide biographical entries, and Vol IV provides indexes for personal names, broadway musicals, movies, and popular songs. Academy Award Winners and Nominees for music are included for 1934-73; a time chart of release dates for major record labels 1924-45, and the poll winners from 1937 through 1972 from Down Beat and Metronome is included.
American Song
[Reference ML 128 M78 B6 1985] Provides complete data and commentary on nearly 3300 American musicals. Volume one lists the productions alphabetically. Volume two consists of an index to over 42,000 songs, 16000 people, and a chronological listing of titles.
Hollywood Song
[Reference ML 128 M7 B6 1995] Provides complete information about the music contained within selected films. Entries include composers, lyricists, choreographers, songs, cast, producers, directors and screenwriters. The third volume contains a chronological listing of titles and complete indexes to the personnel and individual songs.
Keeping Score
[Reference ML 128 M7 L5 1991] Provides an alphabetic listing of film and TV music by year with cross references for composers and arrangers. A bibliography and discography is included.
Popular Song Index
[Reference ML 128 S3 H4] Provides an index to collections of popular songs, folk songs, spirituals, hymns, blues and children's songs. The songs are listed alphabetically, and refer lo one or more of the collections listed at the beginning of the volume.
A Comprehensive Bibliography of Music for Film and Television
[Reference ML 128 M7 W47 1985] Provides a reliable overview of the literature on music in film and television. Over half of the material listed in this volume does not appear in other sources. The bibliography is divided into those sources that deal with the history of music in film and TV, the composers of these works, the aesthetics of this genre, research and several 'special' topics.
Hollywood
Songsters
[Reference ML 400 P295 1991.] Provides biographical entries to performers who have had success as singers and film stars from the 1920s through the 1980s, ranging from Burl Ives to Cher; Nelson Eddy to Johnny Cash; and Eddie Cantor to Diana Ross. A Song and Album index is included in the appendices.
Songs in Collections
[Reference ML 128 S3 D37] Provides an index to songs in collections. Entries are arranged by category: composed songs, folk and anonymous songs, carols and sea chanties. Indexes are provided for authors, titles and first lines of the songs.
Return to Top
World Music
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music.
[Reference; ML100 G16 1997; 10 vols] v. 1. Africa / R. M. Stone, ed. -- v. 2. South America, Mexico, Central America, and the Caribbean / D. A. Olsen and D. E. Sheehy, eds. -- v. 3. United States and Canada -- v. 4. Southeast Asia / T. E. Miller and S. Williams, eds. -- v. 5. South Asia, the Indian subcontinent / A. Arnold, ed. -- v. 6. The Middle East / A. J. Fisher. -- v. 7. East Asia: China, Japan, and Korea /R.C. Provine, Y. Tokumaru, and J.L. Witzleben, eds. -- v. 8. Europe / T. Rice, J. Porter, and C. Goertzen, eds. -- v. 9. Australia and the Pacific Islands / A. L. Kaeppler and J . W. Love, eds.
Return to Top
Indexes
Oxford
Music OnLine:
[OnLine Resourse] Provides access to the full text of the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, second edition (2001); The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (1992); and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz (2002) as well as additional sound files, images and updated articles.
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and
Musicians. 2nd ed.
[Reference ML100 N48 2001; 29 vols] All major biographical entries have a bibliography and works list. Discussed above.
Anthologies of Music: An Annotated Index
[Reference ML 128 A7 M87 1992] Provides an index to over 4670 individual pieces by more than 600 composers, contained in 33 anthologies. Entries are arranged alphabetically by composer.
The Directory of Tunes and Musical Themes
[Reference ML 128 I65 P33] Provides a directory to many of the themes of classical music using the arrangement of rising and falling intervals to identify the theme. The preface contains an explanation of the notation used in the directory.
A Dictionary of Musical Themes
[Reference ML 128 I65 B3 1975] Provides examples of ten thousand themes. No vocal music is included. The first part of the book is arranged alphabetically by composer. Significant works are listed under that composer's name, and the principal theme(s) associated with that work. The second part of the book provides a Notation index in which the notes of themes are listed, and cross referenced back to the composer.
Collected Editions, Historical Series &
Sets & Monuments
[Reference ML 113 H55 1997] Provides an index to collected editions and monuments of music. Supplements the 1980 Heyer edition discussed below through focusing on newer publications and series not complete in the 1980 work.
Historical Sets, Collected Editions and
Monuments of Music
[Reference ML 113 H52 1980] Provides an index to collected editions and monuments of music. The first volume provides an alphabetic listing of the collections with the contents of each set listed below the main entry. The second volume provides an alphabetic listing of the composers with the title and collection of each work listed below the main entry.
RISM: Répertoire International des Sources
Musicales
[Reference ML 113 I6 Series A, B & C) ] Provides bibliographic description to an international survey of musical sources. Series A, describing s compiled over 564,000 records by almost 20,00 composers found in 740 libraries in Europe, The Americas and Australia. Series B .
RILM: Répertoire International de la
Literature Musicale
[Indexes; Arranged Alphabetically; Vol. 1 (1967) – vol. 32 (1998) ] Provides a classified index to writings on music from around the world. Each entry provides complete bibliographic information and a brief abstract. Published annually.
Music Index
[Indexes; Arranged Alphabetically; Vol. 1 (1949) – vol. 56 (2004)] Provides an index to many major periodicals in music that arranges authors, proper names and subjects into one alphabetic list. Annual compilations.
Return to Top
Subject Guide |
Links: Profile & Guides |



Loading...
